PDA

View Full Version : IEEE1394 & SP2



gum digger
01-04-2006, 03:47 AM
Hi
Windows is not able to detect my camera Sony TRV18E. iam trying to connect it to a IEEE1394 firewire port. I think it worked perfectly under service pack 1 but when i installed sp2 it decided not to detect my camera.

I have downloaded the patch for this fix but nothing has happend.

The firewire port is built into my Silverstone case.

has anybody got a solution for this.?

Speedy Gonzales
01-04-2006, 06:53 AM
Does 1394 connection appear in Network connections??

You didnt give it an ip address did you??

Did you switch the cam to camera/video whatever, so XP picks it up??

gum digger
01-04-2006, 11:50 AM
The connection is not given any ip address neither is protected by a firewall.

Speedy Gonzales
01-04-2006, 12:54 PM
Delete 1394 Net Adapter in device manager and reboot.

Don't give it an ip address tho.

gum digger
01-04-2006, 01:44 PM
Nope. still doesnt detect.

I am surprised no 1 has faced this problem here. because the problem appears when u install SP2

gum digger
01-04-2006, 01:53 PM
Looks like a Unsolved mystery

Speedy Gonzales
01-04-2006, 03:05 PM
Some computers do have probs with firewire.

Since XP also recognises it as a network card. Is your firewire onboard or is it a PCI card?

I use firewire on this (PCI) with SP2. It works no prob at all.

Does it bring up any messages/errors, when you try and get the cam to work / connect it to the port??

And whats the motherboard? If its onboard?

gum digger
01-04-2006, 05:16 PM
Wel mine is onboard., but one of my mate who has a media center with SP2. Even his machine couldnt recognize although he had PCI

SurferJoe46
01-04-2006, 05:20 PM
I usually see this problem with SP-2 when it is added a little too late after the last fdisc and system re-install...if the OPSYS gets all gummed up with drivers and file tails etc and then SP-2 is added...there's no real telling where the failure is, but it ain't the fault of SP-2 like Speedy says...just lazy/late updating and hotfixes.

Speedy Gonzales
01-04-2006, 05:38 PM
Does this cam support USB 2 and firewire? And have a memory stick?

You sure you're not trying to connect via USB 2 if it supports USB 2?

Firewire and USB 2 arent the same thing.

gum digger
02-04-2006, 12:02 AM
you just dont get the same quality with USB2.0. I am 99.899% sure that its SP2 Fault.

Speedy Gonzales
02-04-2006, 08:16 AM
I didnt say anything about the quality of anything.

I was asking whether the cam was USB 2, and firewire. And whether you were trying to use the USB 2, by mistake instead of firewire. For the video. Which is probably why it isnt working.

Nah, well if its SP2 why does it work here, with SP2?? With my Panasonic cam?

gum digger
02-04-2006, 03:32 PM
Nah man. I have nearly given up on this because people on other forums have.

So this stays "Unsolved mystery"

gum digger
11-04-2006, 09:33 AM
I formated my pc & installed SP1A instead of SP2 and it is still not working.
Itz so frustrating...............

Speedy Gonzales
11-04-2006, 09:51 AM
Did you install the motherboard drivers as well, from the mobo cd??

After you formatted / re-installed XP??

Anything in device manager showing a ?

gum digger
13-04-2006, 12:03 AM
Yep installed everything expect raid controller. but i dont thing it is relevant to this.
and there are no drivers provided for IEE1394 in my mobo driver cd although XP Pro installs it for me.