PDA

View Full Version : Computer Parts



Faded_Mantis
26-03-2006, 09:20 PM
Ok, I have the ability to use 2 good computers here,

Athlon 2500+
1024mb ram
ATI 9600pro 128mb
80gb HDD

Athlon 64 3000+
1.5gig ram
nVidia 6600GT 128mb PCI-E
140gb HDD (60gb+80gb)

And I'm looking to put together a computer with some parts I have lying around and buying some others.

Athlon 1800+ (have this)
512mb ram (buying this)
nVidia GeForce 4 MX440 64mb (have this)
80gb HDD (buying this)

The 2 good computers can only be used until about 10pm when I have to get off (they are in bedrooms) after that time I have to use an old Duron 600, 256mb ram, GeForce 2 32mb.

I will only be using the computer I put together until the end of the year when I would sell it on trade me and get a good quality $2000-2500nz computer for my time at univerity.

The computer would cost me $500 to put together and judging by how much people are paying on trade me it could sell for $150-300 at the end of the year. I would be using the computer for internet (browsing and website making), word processing, and games (I know I'll be restricted to older games). I'd also have the freedom to take it where I want and to install what I want (safe programmes only) which is a freedom that I don't have on the 2 good computers.

So, do you think that this would be a good idea or will I just be horribly disapointed?

P.S will be using Win 98 and Xandros as the OS's (I understand about compatability between linux and games and win 98 and newer games.)

P.P.S Is there a way to test a CPU to see if it works other than sticking in a working system to test?

heni72847
26-03-2006, 11:47 PM
my advice..um.. don't do it unless you really have to
i use to use my 500mhz if main comp gets occupied
it really tests your patience

if you're already use to your duron600's speed and don't feel too bad about it then a comp all to yourself is always nice

um..and that 500mhz of mine..now got replaced by a 1.7Ghz..yay

gibler
26-03-2006, 11:53 PM
Sounds okay ... apart from using Windows 98.

Anything about the 800 MHz speed or so is fine, as long as it has at least 256 MB.

Hint: Don't sell it on Trademe but sell it at Uni when you get there.....

Unless you are a chipmaker, then you will have to throw the CPU into a working sytem to see if it is dead (unless there are scorching marks or something :lol: ).
Why are you thinking it may be faulty?

Faded_Mantis
29-03-2006, 10:28 PM
Well the reason that the CPU isn't being used anymore is because the MoBo it was on burnt out. And a new system was made with a newer board, so all other parts were upgraded too.

So i'm not sure if the CPU was damaged too.