PDA

View Full Version : ati graphics card problem



solo187
25-03-2006, 06:14 PM
Every time i try to play a 3d type game. my pc crashes. Im thinking its a graphics card problem. i dont know. I get a bit into a game and it crashes out and reboots my pc. i have: ati radeon x600 256mb - p4 - 1024mb ram

solo187
25-03-2006, 06:16 PM
games like - Splinercell2 - Serious sam 2 - Chronicles of riddick etc. yet when i play other 3d games like - Doom3 - or - Gun - it runs fine. its to random. i cant nail the problem guys. any help please?

Renmoo
25-03-2006, 06:35 PM
Any error message (well, not really a relevant question) prior crashing?

Cheers :)

solo187
25-03-2006, 06:43 PM
nope- just resets

solo187
25-03-2006, 06:45 PM
just as im getting into it to. :). its a real bugger

gibler
26-03-2006, 12:01 AM
turn off restart on BSOD (http://xphelpandsupport.mvps.org/how_do_i_disable_automatic_resta.htm)

Sounds to me like it might be an overheating issue.....

chiefnz
26-03-2006, 02:43 AM
Yeah I agree with Gibler it could be an over-heating issue although I wouldn't rule out driver issues or possibly lack of updates for the games.

What kind of Radeon X600 do you have and what driver set including the version number are you using.

Cheers
chiefnz

solo187
26-03-2006, 05:25 AM
i have Xtreme-G saphire radeon x600 pro and drivers are the XG Warcat 6.3 version of catalyst control centre. I use the tweaked drivers but the regular catylyst control centre used to be just the same with regards to random crashes

solo187
26-03-2006, 03:55 PM
so- if it were an overheating issue. what would i do?

pctek
26-03-2006, 04:59 PM
Take the side off, direct a household fan at the card - try your game again and see if that helps.

chiefnz
27-03-2006, 10:32 AM
If the household fan does help then you may need to either install a case fan directly opposite the card to create more airflow or alternatively install a 3rd party after market VGA cooler.

cheers

chiefnz

georgeks
28-03-2006, 08:39 AM
Is your memory in duall channel mode? Is it compatible with your mainboar? Could be memory errors..check if the latency is similar..