PDA

View Full Version : Windows won't start, help please



Tontoe
24-03-2006, 12:34 PM
I brought one of the new hardrives, not sure what they call them, but they only use a red ,thin connection.
Anyway everything was going good, loaded up windows and also put Adaware, and a few other ones like that in, then i turned it off, but next time it would only go past the windows logo , then it just restarts every time.
can someone help me out here, please.

Speedy Gonzales
24-03-2006, 12:41 PM
So you've got a SATA hdd.

I would check the SATA cables inside the case. They can come out pretty easy.

And make sure the data and power cables are connected properly.

Is SATA onboard (on the motherboard)? Or are you using a PCI SATA card?

Tontoe
24-03-2006, 01:06 PM
So you've got a SATA hdd.

I would check the SATA cables inside the case. They can come out pretty easy.

And make sure the data and power cables are connected properly.

Is SATA onboard (on the motherboard)? Or are you using a PCI SATA card?

Thanks Speedie, i will try that and the connection is on the board.

Tontoe
24-03-2006, 01:21 PM
Nope, the cables are good, its weird, as it was working well before, could it possibly be software that was downloaded ? i tried my other older hardrive in there and its works great.

Speedy Gonzales
24-03-2006, 01:29 PM
Have you configured the SATA in the BIOS??

Does it show under 3rd or 4th Master? Is it set as the bootdisk?? And does the SATA appear on the post screen?

And there's no floppy in the disk drive if u have one?

Tontoe
24-03-2006, 01:44 PM
No, i didn't know i had to do that, thanks, got another problem now , my zalmans fan is not spinning so i will have to check that out now, what a day, anyway thanks for your help :thumbs: