PDA

View Full Version : Open Office.2.0



Cicero
23-03-2006, 06:25 PM
I have just dowloadedOpen Office 2.0 and was doing the run thing and got this......

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y79/cicero1520/Noname.jpg
You will note it say cick,but not what to click,it gives the option to change and have tried all the options that I could think would do the job,but to ni avail.

Jen
23-03-2006, 07:43 PM
Your screenshot is the size of a postage stamp and you cannot read any of the details on it. Could you please post a larger screenshot. :)

Cicero
23-03-2006, 08:25 PM
Your screenshot is the size of a postage stamp and you cannot read any of the details on it. Could you please post a larger screenshot. :)
Sorry about that J,what is the system that is used on here apart from photpbucket.You can enlarge that one I think.

Greven
23-03-2006, 08:42 PM
Sorry about that J,what is the system that is used on here apart from photpbucket.You can enlarge that one I think.
http://imagef1.net.nz

Jen
23-03-2006, 08:46 PM
Your image file size is only 18KBs, so I think you must of resized it before uploading the screenshot?

Greven
23-03-2006, 09:01 PM
photobucket always compressed my images way too much when I uploaded them, even though they say you can upload much larger pictures

Myth
23-03-2006, 09:11 PM
I have just dowloadedOpen Office 2.0 and was doing the run thing and got this......

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y79/cicero1520/Noname.jpg
You will note it say cick,but not what to click,it gives the option to change and have tried all the options that I could think would do the job,but to ni avail.You need to give us a larger file to look at, the one the link leads to is too small and can't be read at a larger size.

Cicero
23-03-2006, 10:35 PM
Hope this is better.
Might add that the image on my desktop is 1.3 meg,so it would seem it was compressed to much somehow.

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Noname.bmp

godfather
23-03-2006, 10:51 PM
Looks to me like you have only downloaded the language pack, not the full OpenOffice program. Therefore its complaining that it can't install, as it cant find OpenOffice...?

But thats just a guess based on your (now horribly large) image file that takes ages to load...

Cicero
23-03-2006, 11:09 PM
Looks to me like you have only downloaded the language pack, not the full OpenOffice program. Therefore its complaining that it can't install, as it cant find OpenOffice...?

But thats just a guess based on your (now horribly large) image file that takes ages to load...
I opening it and it took 3 secs,will give you tips on speeding up your system when I get the chance. :thumbs:

zqwerty
23-03-2006, 11:24 PM
He has a release candidate version on his desktop, and very strange that megabit image loaded very fast on my dial up, about 4 secs???????

Cicero
24-03-2006, 12:15 AM
All is well now.
Having got this,is it better than word?

Thank you all,I am lost without you.

Myth
24-03-2006, 12:29 AM
Is anything better than a Microsoft product? In the end, only you can make that call.

As a Linux user, I have opted for OpenOffice2.0 as my office app (needed for CV'S etc)
I have found it to be quite good and very compatible with MS Word. The formatting is very near to that of MS Word, but I have heard tables can be a bit of an issue (I think Graham_L said something to that effect). I don't know as I haven't needed to use the tables, nor the other parts of OpenOffice (the equivalent of powerpoint and excel .. though I have heard OO2 does have issues with .ppts (Windows powerpoint presentations)). Again I can't confirm/deny as I haven't needed to use them

SurferJoe46
24-03-2006, 04:00 AM
I run Power Point Presentations and Excel in OO all the time...no problem......althought I have to say it was the older version, 1.4 I think...haven't run one in 2.0 yet....