PDA

View Full Version : Insufficient power to video card



FatJ
23-03-2006, 10:03 AM
I recently bought a video card (it's stilll being shipped) Radeon X850XT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102688) . It says it "recommends" a 350watt ppower supply. I only have 300watts. However my comp doesn't seem to use nearly all of them. Also I have a fairly nice UPS just in case. Will there be any chance I will harm my system if it doesn't have enough power?? Will my new card just plain not work? If I do need to buy a new PSU I would want to get one for cheap thats pretty good about the 400 watt range, any suggestions?? ANy info at all on this topic would be awesome!

Compaq SR1650NX
Full System specs found here (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&lang=en&cc=us&product=1127352&dlc=en&docname=c00471060)
All stock parts. Onboard video and sound card (for now)

thanx
-J

FoxyMX
23-03-2006, 10:38 AM
Check out this guide (http://forums.overclockers.co.nz/showthread.php?s=&threadid=14881) for (nearly) all you need to know about PSUs.

Rob99
23-03-2006, 10:43 AM
I would want to get one for cheap thats pretty good about the 400 watt range, any suggestions??You have to spend money to get a good PSU, I would take a $100 400W over a $40 500W any day.

PaulD
23-03-2006, 11:00 AM
Check out this guide (http://forums.overclockers.co.nz/showthread.php?s=&threadid=14881) for (nearly) all you need to know about PSUs.

But it is written from a New Zealand view point as far as models and prices go.
I'm guessing you are US based and possibly your 1st problem might be what PSU type will fit into your Compaq case. Not all factory PC's have standard PSU mountings.

FatJ
23-03-2006, 11:23 AM
I also was getting this PSU to power my video card. Is there any specific connectors or specs I should be looking for on the PSU that the PCI express card would need to plug into?

My case seems like it leaves plenty of room for a PSU its very open and not confined.

pctek
23-03-2006, 09:08 PM
The card has a space to plug in its own power connector. If your PSU doesn't have it, you can buy molex adapters to fit.
The card WILL need it.
300w is not out of the question, but it depends how many amps on the 12v too. Look for a PSU with 26a on it.

tweak'e
23-03-2006, 09:13 PM
just remeber on cheap PSU's the numbers are just there for looks ;)

FatJ
24-03-2006, 11:04 AM
Any suggestions for exact power supplies to get? Or even what brands are good. I really don't need anything fancy, just something solid that fits my purpose. About 350-400 watts and good enough quality to not burn out without breaking the bank. Any suggestions??

Also any recommended programs for monitering my power and my vidoe card so I don't harm my system?

Trev
24-03-2006, 11:48 AM
DSE sell Thermaltake 430 watt PSUs for about $85.

Trevor :)

pctek
24-03-2006, 12:17 PM
Enermax.

Myth
24-03-2006, 12:26 PM
Enermax

Or if you want to spend a few more dollars .. Antec

PaulD
24-03-2006, 01:28 PM
Try this FSP, around $40
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104953

FatJ, you are in the US?