PDA

View Full Version : Help with new computer

rerun
13-03-2006, 07:22 AM
Hey, ok, I won't waste any time.. I built this computer about 3 months ago, it was my first time do this. Everything went well.

I got the internet for it about a week ago, so thats when I really started useing it. However, i have encountered a few problems.

First off, stuff like some ads, and some webpages won't come up.. they come back as the page does not exist.. however, sometimes if you press refresh or you go back and then forward again it will show up.

Secondly, Windows media player will not connect to the internet, and if you try to play a file off the internet, it will say it doesn't exist.

Lastly, Whenever I try to download most files; after it is done and I try to run it it I get an error message "NSIS" saying that it is corrupt.. this has pretty much put a damper ont he whole computer..

I'm fairly new to computer workings so any help will be great. Thanks.

SurferJoe46
13-03-2006, 11:17 AM
I am going to start the ball rolling here...

We need some basics first..then the real tech-y peeps can get their teeth into your problems...

Start with Motherboard, # of Drives, Processor, OPSYS, RAM, anti-spy stuff and security you have installed BEFORE going online, are the Windows updates ALL installed (if you are using Windows, that is), type of ISP (dial-up, DSL)

Can you still get online?

A naked computer on the internet will last about 15 seconds before it's haunted by hackers, trojans, viruses and spam/pop-ups etc.

Do you have a router? Are you using WIFI? Is it secure?

So many questions... :dogeye:

rerun
13-03-2006, 12:52 PM
Thanks alot.. here are the specs:

MOBO- Asus A8N-E
CPU- AMD 64 3200
The drivers I have on are from the CPU.. all NVIDIA stuff, and some ATI drivers too...
I'm using Windows XP home
1024RAM
Highspeed internet (800kbps)

As for the spywhare stuff I guess this is where I prove to you guys that I'm a newbie :D