PDA

View Full Version : Modems ?



Tontoe
11-03-2006, 05:11 PM
I have an old pent 3 733 mhz, which has been set up dialup connection, now i want to go on to ADSL connection, trouble is there is no were to plug the new modem connection into.
Can i buy something that adapts to the newer connection ?
thanks for any advise,

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2006, 05:18 PM
And whats the new connection on the modem?

USB or ethernet?

Or is it a PCI adsl modem?

Tontoe
11-03-2006, 05:21 PM
I don't know the differance, its shaped in a small retangle with a small lever on one side of it, if that makes any sense ??

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2006, 05:27 PM
If it looks like a connection u plug into a phone, it sounds like ethernet.

So, the computer you've got hasnt got a network card??

You can buy PCI network cards.

Does the connection look like this? (http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/4412518900d83b5c2741c0a87f9906c2/Product/View/XH8265)

Tontoe
11-03-2006, 05:32 PM
No, its longer and thinner than a phone connection or dialup connection, it only has the origanal card that is used for dialup only.
IT does look like it would fit into the one you showed me.

Speedy Gonzales
11-03-2006, 05:39 PM
So, its like this? (http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/441253bb0d3a0da82740c0a87f9906fa/Product/View/XH3363)

Which is a USB connection. In which case, you need something like this (http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/441253bb0d3a0da82740c0a87f9906fa/Product/View/XH6738)

You would also need a spare PCI slot inside the case.

Tontoe
11-03-2006, 05:41 PM
I will take it down to the PC shop, then i should get the right part.
Thanks very much for your help speedie

SurferJoe46
11-03-2006, 06:03 PM
This just eludes me...why not remove the dial-up modem and put in it's place a NIC?.....