PDA

View Full Version : WiFi help

Fred
04-02-2006, 09:13 PM
Hi all, Just got a new Apache smart phone and need some help setting up WiFi.
I thought that my WiFi laptop and WIFi phone would "talk" to each other, but no. I'm new to networking so can someone please talk me through WiFi network setup.

Many thanks

STi
05-02-2006, 02:13 PM
Do you mean connect to router?

Fred
05-02-2006, 08:46 PM
No, was thinking that the two would talk dirrectly to each other. (WiFi phone & WiFi laptop). Or is this just not possible?
Thanks

maccrazy
05-02-2006, 08:56 PM
It's possible to have a computer to computer network so I would assume it is possible to do the same with a 802.11b/g enabled phone. :)

Fred
05-02-2006, 09:03 PM
Thanks, so how do we do a WiFi network?

Speedy Gonzales
05-02-2006, 09:10 PM
Setting up a WI-FI network is the same, as setting up a ethernet network.

You have to give whatever ip addresses, and a workgroup name (well with PC's).

I wouldnt have a clue, what settings are in this Smartphone.

Or whether it lets u enter / type in ip addresses. BUT depending on how far away you'll be when using this phone, you may need an access point.

This is so u can get a better signal between a PC / laptop, and the phone.

Did the Smartphone come with a driver for Windows?

Fred
05-02-2006, 09:24 PM
The phone has the following settings:
Under a page called LEAP we enter
SSID
User Name
Password
Domain

In the main page it lists current configeration, I take it this is shows an active connection.

Speedy Gonzales
06-02-2006, 07:06 AM
Ah ok.

If XP is on the laptop, is SP2 installed? As SP2 gives u a wireless network setup wizard. Which is in control panel.

If SP2 isn't installed, then I'm not too sure how you would configure the wireless between the laptop and the phone.

Unless the phone came with its own software, so you can configure it with XP (If this is what's on the laptop).