PDA

View Full Version : 20 pin and 24 pin power supply.



wmoore
01-02-2006, 10:18 AM
Just brought a new Mobo The information I got on it said it had a 24 pin power
supply. So I got a 24 pin thermeral lake ps. I now find out it is only 20 pin not 24
pin. So do I have to buy new 20 pin power supply or can i use it the 24 pin some how ?????

Thanks

Metla
01-02-2006, 10:26 AM
Yes, You can use it.

How?

Plug it it.

CYaBro
01-02-2006, 11:32 AM
The PSU mobo plug should be able to have the 4 pins removed from one end to make it into a 20 pin plug.

Graham L
01-02-2006, 02:38 PM
The extra pins (sockets? :)) are on the PSU's connector. The extra four locations are to provide a few more amps for the modern megawatt processors, so pins 1..20 should have the same uses. Does the housing of the 20 pins on the motherboard have enough clearance to connect to the first 20 pins of the PSU connector? If not, I'd assume that the oin usages differ. (I'm working on the assumptions that the manufacturers would have thought of this, and done their best to idiot proof the system. That might be overoptimistic. :D)

I wouldn't butcher connectors. You should be able to exchange an unused PSU. ;)

Metla
01-02-2006, 03:07 PM
They are idiot proof, the additional four pins are only clipped on the end of the 20 pin plug, and they are quite seperate from the additional 4 pin plug that feeds the CPU...

pbb
16-02-2006, 03:24 AM
I've been running an Asus P5GD2 (24-pin) motherboard with an Antec 380SP (20-pin) powersupply for the last year (bought december 2004) without any problems. It has been used a lot in that time (I guess it has been turned on at least 75% of the time).

HOWEVER, two days ago my computer didn't boot up at all anymore. In the hardwareshop they connected a 24-pin PSU, and voila it was running as a charm again. Of course, it could also mean that my PSU was just worn down, although Antec is known for good PSU's. Google around and your see more messages that you get no warranties that everything continues to work over longer time if you connect 20-pin to 24-pin...

pctek
16-02-2006, 07:43 AM
It either works or it doesn't. Its not going to work and then later not work. You have some problem with that PSU.