PDA

View Full Version : Radeon 9200SE, not any good?



Sync_88k
26-01-2006, 12:06 PM
I have recently bought a second hand Radeon 9200SE for $55
I put it in a system with-

AMD Duron 1.3ghz
256 Ram DDR
ECS L7VTA rev1.0 (31st week of 2003)
AGP 8x

And ahh, Since i upgraded from my 32meg ECS graphics card, I dont much see much difference in the Frames per second thing, even when playing battlefield 1942.

I err, installed the drivers and all that, DxDiag tells me all the drivers are complete, and hardware's working fine.

I guess it just comes down my to insufficient RAM and CPU.
So which one is slowing my Graphics card down, RAM or CPU?

Yeah thanks.

Greven
26-01-2006, 12:20 PM
all 3, but even an underpowered card like a 9200 should be a notiseable improvement over the ECS graphics.

Hows the motherboard holding up? I've had nothing but trouble with elitegroup

Mirddes
26-01-2006, 02:48 PM
you need more ram, more than anything else.
then its dependant on what games you play.
if you play rts ect a cpu upgrade woudl be best, if you play fps well you need new everythign but new graphcis woudl be best. good thing you have socketA. shodul be abelt to toss in most athlons ect and have them run fine.

jason_f90
27-01-2006, 10:11 PM
im guessing all u want to play is battlefield 1942, having at least 512MB of ram will definitely help. ur cpu and graphics card should handle 1942 easily.

Greven
27-01-2006, 11:14 PM
If he gets a 9550 & upgrades his cpu to a 2000+ or better, he should be able to play 1942 on full quality