PDA

View Full Version : RAM



fkapepa
19-01-2006, 11:38 PM
My cmputer had 64 MB of RAM. I bought 256 MB and added it to the existing one and now I have 352 MB. Is this ok or I have to do some thing to make it more effective. Help.
fkapepa

godfather
20-01-2006, 12:02 AM
256+64 = 320MB

Where does your 352 get reported...?

Sounds like you might have 32 MB used for video RAM, and you had 96 MB originally, with 64 "available"?

If Windows sees it there is no more to be done.

96+256 = 352

Renmoo
20-01-2006, 12:08 AM
Perhaps, if you provide us the model of your motherboard, we might be able to help you. Or, if you are certain that the new RAM is compatible with your motherboard, then go for it. Have you checked out your motherboard to see if there are any free DIMM slots available?

Cheers :)

Jen
20-01-2006, 01:19 AM
Is this ok or I have to do some thing to make it more effective. Help.Do you mean "more effective" by making Windows run faster? If you only had 64 (or 96 MB) of RAM initially I am guessing you are running Windows 98? That OS should be quite responsive with the new RAM now but if you are still having speed problems, perhaps you could clarify your question a bit more with further details. :)

fkapepa
20-01-2006, 04:10 AM
Perhaps, if you provide us the model of your motherboard, we might be able to help you. Or, if you are certain that the new RAM is compatible with your motherboard, then go for it. Have you checked out your motherboard to see if there are any free DIMM slots available?

Cheers :)
Someone just built up this computer for. Motherboard is celeron cpu 2.40 GHz.
It has two slots where to put the RAM
fkapepa

pctek
20-01-2006, 07:36 AM
now I have 352 MB. Is this ok or I have to do some thing to make it more effective.
fkapepa
You have already improved it I'd say. Any more performance gains would only come from replacing the CPU etc.

Shortcircuit
20-01-2006, 10:56 AM
If it's the comp that you mentioned in the previous thread running Win XP you might find even with 320mb of ram it will run a bit slow (256mb is the 'minimum' to run XP comfortably). If you can afford it you could purchase another 256mb ram stick and ditch the 64mb stick, so that you'll have 512mb total.