PDA

View Full Version : Counter-Strike: Source on LCD 60fps max?



jamesyboi
14-01-2006, 08:58 PM
whilst playing some CSS I noticed my fps doesn't exceed 60. it changes between 59-60 and doesn't drop. it seems im being held back. in console the default fpsmax is 300, i change it to anything e.g. 85 and no change...i am beginning to suspect my lcd monitor doing something. however it runs @ 75hz on native resolution (1280x1024)... if i change resolution the same fps result occurs. im running a 3.2ghz & GF6600GT so i should be getting higher fps. any ideas?

jamesyboi
14-01-2006, 09:09 PM
Also I'm having trouble joining any servers. they have high latency and say no users are playing in them when clearly it says 16/32 etc. when one finally lets me try and connect it says failed after 4 retries and stops after 2 loading bars. only very rarely does it say parsing game info and join. this is in the css server finder thing.

Haze
14-01-2006, 09:17 PM
whilst playing some CSS I noticed my fps doesn't exceed 60. it changes between 59-60 and doesn't drop. it seems im being held back. in console the default fpsmax is 300, i change it to anything e.g. 85 and no change...i am beginning to suspect my lcd monitor doing something. however it runs @ 75hz on native resolution (1280x1024)... if i change resolution the same fps result occurs. im running a 3.2ghz & GF6600GT so i should be getting higher fps. any ideas?
It's the graphics card. You need to turn V(ertical) Sync off (instead of the default "Application-Controlled").

Here are the steps you needa take
1. Start
2. Control Panel
3. Display
4. Settings
5. Advanced
6. Click on the tab w/ your graphics card
7. Performance & Quality Settings
8. Vertical Sync
9. Untick 'Application Controlled', slide to 'Off"
10. Click 'Apply' and 'OK'

Try playing CSS now and see if that fixed it, worked for me :P

jamesyboi
14-01-2006, 09:50 PM
really? i know how to turn it off i just usually have it set to 'on' because i thought it was good to be on.....thanks ill try putting it on off :D

jamesyboi
14-01-2006, 10:34 PM
thanks its fixed up now