PDA

View Full Version : knoppix boot problem



paulmb
10-01-2006, 11:54 PM
Hey, has anyone else had problems booting knoppix off CD?
I downloaded knoppix using bittorrent and burnt the disk image to CD-RW using Roxio.
When I try and boot up I get as far a seeing the first knoppix boot message, then I get:

Looking for CD - dev/hda...

Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.
Press reset button to quit.

The PC then locks up and I never get to a command line.

Anyone had the same experience?
Any clues as to what the issue might be?

paulMB

Simply_Si
11-01-2006, 01:36 AM
Hi Paul,

I haven't had any problems with knoppix cd's booting. A couple of things that could cause this may be a bad burn when you created the disk or perhaps a corrupted download.

The first thing I would do is check the integrity of the download. You can do this by calculating the md5 checksum of the iso image. There is a utility available at this site (http://www.fastsum.com)

HTH

PS it might help to note the PC specs just in case this is causing the problem

vinref
11-01-2006, 03:19 AM
Hey, has anyone else had problems booting knoppix off CD?
I downloaded knoppix using bittorrent and burnt the disk image to CD-RW using Roxio.
When I try and boot up I get as far a seeing the first knoppix boot message, then I get:

Looking for CD - dev/hda...

Can't find KNOPPIX filesystem, sorry.
Dropping you to a (very limited) shell.
Press reset button to quit.

The PC then locks up and I never get to a command line.

Anyone had the same experience?
Any clues as to what the issue might be?

paulMB

You have a dodgy DMA. Boot knoopix without it. Interrupt the autoboot and type this: knoppix nodma. It may have changed - I haven't used knoppix for years.

paulmb
11-01-2006, 08:21 AM
Thanks guys.
I downloaded and ran the checksum utility - no problems.
I ran up knoppix with the "nodma" option and it made no difference.
PC specs:
asus P4P800 motherboard, intel P4 3.0Ghz CPU, 1.5GB memory, 2 x seagate HDD's (1 x 40GB 1 x 80GB), 1 x pioneer DVD RW drive...
paulmb

Prescott
11-01-2006, 09:37 AM
Try burning it to a cdr.

What version of Knoppix do you have?

paulmb
11-01-2006, 11:37 AM
Thanks.
Do you think the -RW disk might be the problem?
paulmb

Graham L
11-01-2006, 01:09 PM
It could easily be the problem. Booting an OS requires perfect transfer of every bit.