PDA

View Full Version : C-Media Audio AC97



Nyuuji
04-01-2006, 02:49 PM
Hi ppls,

Trying to repair a friends PC. He has done a clean reinstall but cannot get get any sound. Its a packard Bell, P4 2.0G, 256Mb RAM, 40Gb drive, WinXP SP2.

When trying to play any audio such as music etc, he gets an error message saying that there is a problem with the sound device. I have looked up the error on MS website, but found no answers.

There is a yellow eclamation mark next to "C-Media Audio Devive" in device manager. So I tried updating, uninstalling, downloading drivers from c-media website, and checked audio was enabled in bios. Tried generic drivers too, as well as letting windows download them from "windows update" site, but didnt work either.

Anyone had a problem like this with C-Media?
I've spent half a day trying to fix it, so if I cant find soultion I'll just tell him to install a el-cheepo sound card.

Speedy Gonzales
04-01-2006, 03:05 PM
Have you tried the drivers from the HP site?

Nyuuji
04-01-2006, 03:08 PM
Not from the HP site yet. tried the ones from packard bell though.
I'll giv'em a go

Speedy Gonzales
04-01-2006, 03:11 PM
Oh isnt Packard Bell some part of HP?

What kind of file did you download? An exe file? If its an exe file, did you run it to install it, to see if it works?

Nyuuji
04-01-2006, 03:16 PM
Yes, its was an exe file and I ran it (several times actually).
No luck though,
but just found an old sound card in an ancient pc from garage, so I might just plug that in...

Nyuuji
04-01-2006, 03:34 PM
No good. The old sound card was not compatable with motherboard.
Any ideas?

Speedy Gonzales
04-01-2006, 03:37 PM
If the soundcard is showing an ! look in device manager, see what else is having probs, or isnt working.

Look through all entries in device manager, and see if something else has a ! as well. Something maybe conflicting with it.

Nyuuji
04-01-2006, 03:42 PM
Had a look and there appear to be no conflicts at all.
This started immediatly after he reinstalled.

Speedy Gonzales
04-01-2006, 03:46 PM
Double click on that ! whats the error say?

Under device status.

Nyuuji
04-01-2006, 03:56 PM
"This device could not start. (CODE 10)" is what the comes up after duble cicking "c-media audio device"

Also I just tried reinstalling audio driver again and now I do have another device error...
says "SM Bus Controller" and its got a yellow question mark, and it wont find drivers cause it cant find the nesiccary software.

Speedy Gonzales
04-01-2006, 04:01 PM
You'll have to find the driver for that SMB bus controller from the site somewhere.

You need it.

If you or your mate can't find it, I would send an email to HP, or whoever, and ask them where do you download it from.

bartsdadhomer
04-01-2006, 04:29 PM
no use contacting hp, packard bell is not part of hp, it's owned by NEC
drivers for packard bell machines are available here
http://www.packardbell.co.nz/support/download.asp?CID=9
you'll need your model name/number to find the correct drivers which should be on the system unit somewhere

as it's not a very old machine, you should still have the driver cd somewhere surely
it will have all you need on it

Myth
04-01-2006, 04:58 PM
Or if you have no luck at that site, you could try driverguide.com. Join up (is free and they don't spam your emailbox) and you will discover a heap of drivers .. just choose the one you need

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 01:23 AM
To get the SM Bus device working all you need is chipset drivers for the motherboard.

Then install the c-media drivers from c-media's website (you should know what model you need - if not just look at the chip) and it should all work.

I have had no problems with c-media (and I've had 3 in different computers- the CMI8738 chip, 2 PCI cards and one onboard)

When you run the setup it will ask if you have PCI card or onboard chip etc, make sure you choose the right one

georgeks
05-01-2006, 06:20 AM
When you update your windows, look what you download: I had the same issue at work with a notebook: Uninstall all audio drivers, install only from Microsoft

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 08:24 AM
When you update your windows, look what you download: I had the same issue at work with a notebook: Uninstall all audio drivers, install only from Microsoft
back to front mate, never install audio or video drivers from windows update

Growly
05-01-2006, 08:59 AM
I had the same problem with a Packard Bell, and an HP, and a Compaq. The problem was that the driver windows loads isn't the right driver at all, so I looked at the chip on the motherboard and googled it. It turned out to be something completely different in one case, something absurd in another, and the last one was quite straightforward.

So look at the chip on the board - also look at the southbridge chip and, failing that, the motherboard model. That way you can get drivers from the motherboard manufacturer's website.

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 10:10 AM
Thats what I had an inclining it to be Growly.
I spent hours trawling through the net and forums looking for an answer, and I am starting to think the microsoft drivers installs at startup are not the right ones.
But im having trouble trying to find the right drivers.

Also, it seems to be a common problem after reinstalling the OS with these (older) machines.
This one is a "iMedia M82000NW" from packard bell.
and after "model" on back sticker it says "MON-COL"

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 11:27 AM
this is the driver page for the m series
http://www.packardbell.co.nz/support/download.asp?CID=9
are u positive it's a cmedia sound chip
i cant find any pb machines that have cmedia driver downloads

might pay to open the case and have a look at whats written on the chip

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 11:36 AM
Hi Homer,
I have been doing further trawling and researcherd the motherboard on his PC "GA-8SIML".
From the online manual for this model, it uses " Realtech ALC201A Chipset"
So im going to try this driver I just downlaoded from gigabyte website (30Mb).

But when I uninstalled the C-media one, it reboots and then reloads itself again with windows.
how should I go about it guys?

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 11:48 AM
Did you uninstall the c-media with its own uninstall utility or did you use device manager??

C:\WINDOWS\cmuninst.exe

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 11:49 AM
either this
http://support.packardbell.com/uk/mypc/?PibItemNr=REFFIUP04880400&PibItemParent=platform_clipper_imediavl#show

or if you follow my earlier link and select imedia in the options then the m series
there is an audio driver which is probably nthe correct one
2004 release
http://202.188.160.140/User/user_nec_download.asp?driver_location=D:\Drivers\S ound\Sigmatel STAC9750T_SIS961 6.13.10.9010.exe
or
2005 release
http://202.188.160.140/User/user_nec_download.asp?driver_location=D:\Drivers\S ound\Sigmatel STAC9750_614013798.exe
surely on of them will work

uninstall the present driver
Double click the downloded file to extract the driver file into C:\PNP\Audio\ folder.
Goto C:\PNP\Audio\ right click on stac97n.inf then select install to install driver.

damn those links don't work, just go to the nz site i gave you and follow the procedure till you find the m series
your board has this sound chip see here
http://support.packardbell-europe.com/support/pri/item/item_spec_columbiagx.asp?c=cl

there are links to all sorts of drivers

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 12:11 PM
I used device manger to uninstall it, Agent24.

Homer, that last link is the same motherboard thats in this machine.
The realtech one didnt work, so ill go to the nz site you said and find one there.

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 12:19 PM
Try running C:\WINDOWS\cmuninst.exe

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 12:21 PM
Just dowloaded and installed the audio driver at bottom of page from here Homer,
http://support.packardbell.com/uk/mypc/?PibItemNr=spec_columbia#show
..but after rebooting it still finds new hardware and loads c-media drivers... ??????

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 12:23 PM
No file of that name in the windows file Agent24...
Will do a search though...

....nah, no such file im afraid.
gonna go get some lunch and do a virus scan while im gone just to be sure its not that.
brb...

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 12:34 PM
Odd.... well the file should be in the zip file you downloaded from C-media anyway.. just extract and run..

Or try booting in safe mode and deleting from device manager there

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 01:11 PM
Just dowloaded and installed the audio driver at bottom of page from here Homer,
http://support.packardbell.com/uk/mypc/?PibItemNr=spec_columbia#show
..but after rebooting it still finds new hardware and loads c-media drivers... ??????
that's not the driver from the nz site tho'
have a look at he sound chip on the board u need to properly identify it

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 01:42 PM
Bottom right hand corner of M/B is a small black chip with the following on it..

SiS 916 ,
sis'01 ,
PMD161 ,
0221HA.

Is this the audio chip?

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 02:21 PM
Agent24: I didn't download of a webpage, they get installed at startup when windows says new device found after uninstalling old drivers.

Btw,...there was nothing found with anti virus scan.

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 02:41 PM
Err if u mean Realtek, NOT realtech.

Try here (http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/dlac97-2.aspx?lineid=5&famid=12&series=8&Software=True)

Just make sure you get the right one for the version of Windows thats installed.

Read the readme (http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/ac97readme.pdf) first. Altho, u cant, if u dont have something that can open pdf files.

Make sure you UNINSTALL whatever drivers you've installed already, before installing this.

Hopefuly, it doesnt have the same prob as when I was trying to install drivers for an onboard LAN, for a mobo I just brought. I spent 1/2 the night trying to install them.

Nothing worked. Took it back to the shop, (after it re-opened), when I brought it, and guess what.

They couldnt install the drivers either lol. verdict. The onboard LAN was totally stuffed. Took it back to get a refund.

BIFF
05-01-2006, 03:24 PM
back to front mate, never install audio or video drivers from windows update

I would agree about the video drivers, but with audio drivers if you are not looking for 3d enhancements and things the ms generic drivers are extremely reliable. Of course if you have installed OEM drivers first then try and put a windows update driver over top you will get all sorts of interesting problems.. :)

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 04:55 PM
I've had several customers bring in PC's that have stopped spitting sound after installing sound drivers from Windows update, was even foolish enough to do it on one of mine
Pot luck I guess

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 05:17 PM
Agent24: I didn't download of a webpage, they get installed at startup when windows says new device found after uninstalling old drivers.

best way then will be to just uninstall them, and then install the new drivers with their own installer straight after without doing anything else.


Bottom right hand corner of M/B is a small black chip with the following on it..

SiS 916 ,
sis'01 ,
PMD161 ,
0221HA.

Is this the audio chip?

It will most likely be the southbridge. are you sure it's not SiS 961 though??

Anyway, the name/number of the board should be written between 2 of the PCI slots.

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 05:29 PM
even better just download http://members.home.nl/edeijl/everesthome220.exe and use that to find out what motherboard you have (don't use it to find the audio chip directly, as it can be falsely led by wrong drivers that have been installed)

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 05:45 PM
Yeah, it was SiS961, sorry for mistake.
Just downloaded everest and ran it, and used links in that drivwer website, so ill uninstall, reinstall and get back to let you all know outcome

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 06:05 PM
Downloaded and installed driver for SiS961 from this web site
http://www.sis.com/download/download_step2.php?id=155808&agree=1&country=Australia&Image7911.x=50&Image7911.y=9
But insallation stops just after it starts....???


Currently my device manager looks like this
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Current_set-up.jpg

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 06:13 PM
can you find out what your motherboard is??

is SiS7012 listed under 'windows devices' or 'physical devices' ??

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 06:16 PM
Here is a shot of Everest
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Motherboard.jpg

it also has "GA-8SIML Rev. 1.0" written on motherboard

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 06:28 PM
Also just got email reply from Packardbell support in Malaysia, and he provided a link to a driver to install...

Sigmatel STAC9750_614013798.exe

He says to double click and extract to extract driver file into C:\PNP\Audio\ folder.
But when after double clicking it, I just get the screen that ask which program to open it with ....??

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 06:32 PM
Sis7012 is listed under multimedia in everest
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/everest.bmp

Nomad
05-01-2006, 06:43 PM
That file u downloaded from the advice of PB. Can you give us a screenshot of windows explorer.... of the files that is there.

Their may be a system file to right click and select install...

Or go to replace driver in device manager and try out scan which is recommended and chooset he custom location for driver .. sometimes that does not work too well .. so choose have disk method and direct it to that folder....

What was the URL of hte file provided by PB??

Edit the sound is prob not a SiS. Accordinly to this its a Realtek
http://www.mainboard.cz/mb/gigabyte/GA-8SIML.htm

Does that picture resemble your motherboard. Its a Gigabyte board try searching there .. I tried google but a Gigabyte.com.tw url did not come via. You can try that .com.tw and try their search function.

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 06:51 PM
Also just got email reply from Packardbell support in Malaysia, and he provided a link to a driver to install...

Sigmatel STAC9750_614013798.exe

He says to double click and extract to extract driver file into C:\PNP\Audio\ folder.
But when after double clicking it, I just get the screen that ask which program to open it with ....??
that's the file i gave you a link for this morning
I downloaded it from the links I gave you (NZ site) 156kb (seems small) double clicked it and it created a folder in the root of C drive called PNP\AUDIO\STAC97
Inside were 4 files 2 are inf files right click and install
It's a sigmatel sound chip

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 06:53 PM
Screenshot of file from PB here...
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/PB_driver.jpg

Nomad
05-01-2006, 06:56 PM
Here ya go Sunshine, how this works :thumbs:
Hope it works, let us know.
Here (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Motherboard/Support/Driver/Driver_GA-8SIML.htm)

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 06:56 PM
Screenshot of file from PB here...
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/PB_driver.jpg
I can't really see the pic clearly but it looks like a bum download, try it from the link I gave you or pm me and I'll email it

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 06:57 PM
Well, this is the Gigabyte site (http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Motherboard/Support/Driver/Driver_GA-8SiML.htm#) with the drivers. I cant see from any of the posts here, that you've been here.

Which points to here (http://asia.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/FileList/Driver/driver_audio_realtek_whql.exe)

Instead of going round in circles, it'd have been better to find out what the brand /model of the mobo was first. And get the drivers.

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 06:59 PM
That looks just like the M/B here Nomad.

Homer, I went to said folder in c:drive and right clicked it, choose install, then nothing happens...

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 07:01 PM
Already tried that driver Speedy, and it didn't work sorry

Nomad
05-01-2006, 07:04 PM
Already tried that driver Speedy, and it didn't work sorry

What happens when u install it?
Maybe its a software issue try resetting the mobo .. delete the device as well as delete the driver files on the hard drive manually .. then try that download. That is from the manufacturer so if that does not work .. then bump! :dogeye:

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 07:05 PM
Did you install the OS from a Packard Bell recovery CD or a partition
If from a CD the the installation may have created a folder in the C drive or Program Files named 'drivers' or 'Packard Bell Support' or such like, have a hunt around and you may find the driver is in there
If you installed from a partition point the search for driver to that partition

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 07:06 PM
Already tried that driver Speedy, and it didn't work sorry

Well, it should, thats the driver for the mobo.

The soundcard maybe stuffed.

The soundcard/audio is enabled in the BIOS isn't it?

It did exactly the same thing as what I said in one of my previous post. I spent 1/2 the night the other night, trying to install drivers for LAN for a mobo. The shop confirmed that it was dead.

You could be there till midnight, trying to install drivers for something thats dead.

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 07:12 PM
I've probably installed and uninstalled over a dozen drivers in the last 24 hours, so I cant remember too well what happened with each one, but I still got that driver so i'll give it another go

one problem though is that when I uninstall old drivers is the pc reboots itself upon finishing the uninstall

Nomad
05-01-2006, 07:13 PM
Try go to device manager and write down all the soundcard driver files. Then manually delete them .. if no allow then do it in safe mode.

Then run that file.

I had issues that I installed Music Match and it replaced some of my drivers so they had screetching sounds. I uninstalled and reinstalled and still didn't fix it.. until I deleted drivers, uninstalled Music Match then reinstalled the original drivers. It maybe that it didn't replaced the newer drivers? Or something.....

Upon reboot of uninstall. Let it be. Upon the restart .. press escape when it finds new hardware. Go to the windows explorer and delete the files manually. Restart. Now follow the driver instructions from Gigabyte.

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 07:16 PM
Yes, audio in BIOS was the first thing i checked.

He lost the recovery cd a long time ago, but still has bonafied windows sticker on back, so was just reinstalled from a borrowed xp cd.

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 07:18 PM
Yes, audio in BIOS was the first thing i checked.

He lost the recovery cd a long time ago, but still has bonafied windows sticker on back, so was just reinstalled from a borrowed xp cd.

Borrowed? You can't borrow XP!

If its already been installed somewhere else.

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 07:33 PM
From my understanding OEM windows cd's were generally generic, and as long as you had
a proper microsoft sticker on the back of box, you could install it with your product key from said sticker.
Am I misinformed? please correct me if I am wrong( highly likely usually).

Nomad
05-01-2006, 08:39 PM
If you have a brand name PC and you have no other CD elsewhere for the drivers its probably not a OEM generic windows CD.

Its a CD ROM that is for that motherboard, if you try to load that recovery CD to another computer it won't work. Its merely like a ghost image of the computer.

The other thing is that CD Key will not be generic. You just cannot share CD Keys from other computer(s). The CD key for your windows xp will be somewhere in the recovery CD files, how to extract even if you got the recovery CD with you I have no idea for windows xp. Thou for win9x its ont the registry.

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 08:48 PM
Well, I would give up, trying to install this driver.

If the Gigabyte file doesnt work, nothing will.

Tell whoever to buy another cheap PCI soundcard, and disable the onboard soundcard.

Its either stuffed, or coz of this SMB bus controller, if the drivers for this haven't been installed / found yet.

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 08:51 PM
The CD key for your windows xp will be somewhere in the recovery CD files
he has already said...it's on the system unit...exactly where it's supposed to be

bartsdadhomer
05-01-2006, 08:58 PM
you have installed the SIS AGP (GART) chipset driver (5.25Mb) from the packard bell driver site haven't you...this will install the SM Bus drivers
http://www.packardbell.co.nz/support/download.asp?CID=9
Then install the audio drivers

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 09:21 PM
I'll give it another go with that driver too then.

If that don't work then I might just have get a cheap sound card for it.

Either way I'll post back with the result.

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 09:24 PM
I'll give it another go with that driver too then.

If that don't work then I might just have get a cheap sound card for it.

Either way I'll post back with the result.

So did you install the chipset driver before or not?? Or haven't you downloaded it yet?

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 09:28 PM
Just found out that those drivers worked if I renamed the with ".exe" on the end.
Dont know why, but it enables me to run them now.

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 09:43 PM
Being a "brand name" pc, the motherboard is customised (which is why I hate brand name PC's so much)- so the gigabyte drivers won't work.

I ran into a packard bell with sigmatel audio and if I recall it was actually the same PC model (after looking at your everest screenshot I recognised the motherboard name)

I looked up the drivers on packard bell's site just now and it is a 256kb download.

The drivers I have on my computer from when I got them are 2.93MB :stare:

I can email you the ones I have if you want to see if they work...

Nyuuji
05-01-2006, 09:48 PM
Downloaded and installed that chipset driver Speedy.
But the audio driver didnt go so smoothly.

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2006, 09:56 PM
See if whatever drivers Agent has work. I wouldnt email 2.93mb tho lol.

It might be better if u 2 sent the file in IRC or some IM program.

Agent_24
05-01-2006, 10:04 PM
Nyuuji, I have sent an email through PF1 - if you want the drivers email me back so I can send them to you.

Speedy Gonzales
06-01-2006, 08:51 AM
If the soundcard drivers dont install now, reinstall Windows.

This time reinstalll XP, then the chipset drivers, then everything else.

Usually, its better to install the chipset drivers AFTER you install an operating system. NOT at the end.

Some mobo manuals SPECIFICALLY state / say this.

This is for a good reason.

Nyuuji
06-01-2006, 09:00 AM
XP reinstall is always an option, but I will do it as a last resort after trying a sound card.
Also waiting on a return call from local NEC rep.

Nyuuji
06-01-2006, 09:23 AM
Spoke to NEC-Rep, who after trying,suggested that maybe audio hardware itself is stuffed. So gonna go get a sound card tis'morning.
White flag, I give up...

I'll post back later with results.

Nyuuji
06-01-2006, 10:05 AM
Disabled audio in BIOS and installed a Creative Audio pci sound card out of another pc that was working fine, but still failed to get any sound on this one.
Does this mean M/B is stuffed too?
NEC rep recommended buying a new recovery cd, but at $80~$100, it seemed a bit steep. Could get a cheep M/B for that price.

Shot of device manager now...
http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Device_Man..jpg

Speedy Gonzales
06-01-2006, 10:14 AM
Did u install the right drivers for the card you just installed?

You didnt try and install the drivers for the new card, that u used for the dead soundcard did you?

I cant see why it wouldnt work, the name shows. There's no ! X, or ? under sounds.

Are you sure, the speakers are working lol,, or whatever is plugged into this new soundcard? So, you can hear something.

Nyuuji
06-01-2006, 10:16 AM
HOLD DA PHONE!!!
WE HAVE LIFT OFF!!!
YEAAAAAHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!
ALRIGHT.

sorry for caps but sooooooooo happy i got it to work now

Went to control panel, sounds, audio tab, and changed each box from "Modem#0 Line Playback" to creative audio card , and VIOYLA!

Nyuuji
06-01-2006, 10:19 AM
Speedy, yes I double checked I removed all mention of old drivers.

Man-O-man, took 2 and a half days, but finaly some success at last.
Thank you everyone who tried with all your helpful suggestions.
Sooo glad to be able to return it to him now.

Speedy Gonzales
06-01-2006, 10:20 AM
Well thats good!

It helps to select the right device, so u actually hear something :badpc:

lol, actually the previous pic of the device manager, which showed the old soundcard didnt look like it had probs either.

Maybe changing the device like u just did, would have made the onboard sound work as well.

Nyuuji
06-01-2006, 10:35 AM
Before threre was no other option in the audio tab in the drop down menu other than that "Modem#0 Line Playback"

Thanks again Speedy, Bartsdadhomer, Agent24, Nomad and others.

Man that has made my day now...

Agent_24
06-01-2006, 12:59 PM
Well good to see its working now :)