PDA

View Full Version : slot1 vs socket370



Mirddes
29-12-2005, 12:58 PM
is there a performance diference between the 2 CPU interfaces?

looking into making a dual pentium2/3 system as firewall/file server
possibly gogin to run some older game servers on it,
there seems to be quite a few slot1 pentium3s on trade me.
i should post this before i babble on for too long.

[edit]
ive noticed ram is expencive, and motherboards are harder to comeby

tweak'e
29-12-2005, 01:13 PM
slot 1 is older. speed wise its more to do with what chipset is used. socket 370 with a later chipset will take a much faster cpu than you can put on a slot 1 system.

kingdragonfly
29-12-2005, 05:21 PM
Both are old, but slot 1 is older.

A Socket 370 chip is the same size as a Socket 7 chip but has a different number of PINs and a different voltage. Socket 370 is commonly used with Celeron processors

I think only Pentium 2 was supported by either, but I could be mistaken.

tweak'e
29-12-2005, 05:26 PM
both can take celeron, pentium2 and pentium3 depending on motherboard/chipset.

slot 1 with a slocket (socket 370-slot1 converter) can go as high as 1ghz celeron. socket 370 can go over 1ghz p3. it all depends on the what motherboard is used.

Mirddes
30-12-2005, 02:16 PM
ill probably be trying to get one of the ones listed herre http://www.tyan.com/products/html/archive.html
tyan seems to be a reputable company with good products.
most likly ill be picking one that has cheap ram, has dual or more cpu support, and most importantly i can actually find for a reasonable price (or at all).
right now it looks as though ill be tryign to get either 650mhz pentium3 slot1
or 667mhz pentium3 socket370
the later being cheaper.
they are all buynow.

http://www.trademe.co.nz/Computers/Components/Motherboards/auction-43968696.htm
id love this but its not buynow.