PDA

View Full Version : Remote Desktop Connection



The_End_Of_Reality
24-12-2005, 05:21 PM
Hey Guys.

I want to connect to the computer at work from home using remote desktop connection (or any other free software), does anyone know how to do this?

Please :help:

Thanks

Haze
24-12-2005, 08:05 PM
http://www.realvnc.com

Go to 'Download it now!'

Follow the steps and download the 'Free Edition' (make sure you get the server application).

You will also need a DNS service setup. I recommend the http://www.no-ip.org service, as it also provides it's own dynamic update client (available here (http://www.no-ip.com/downloads.php)).

All you needa do from there is open a port in the router which you can select with RealVNC (default=5900). I also recommend setting up a password for it too.

Now when you run the VNC Viewer (available here (http://www.realvnc.com)) just type in the address with a format like this: http://<dns address>::<port number>. Here is a screenshot of an example:

http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/1341/vncviewer8qy.gif

You can save bandwidth by going into the options of the viewer and selecting the Low colour level, which is good enough for the purposes you are doing, which will therefore make operation smoother, without wasting some of your precious internet traffic.

If you need more help setting it up, please don't hesitate to contact me.

The_End_Of_Reality
24-12-2005, 08:41 PM
Ok I downloaded the free version on home PC, just need to get it on work PC :annoyed: but do I need to get the DNS service? can I not just enter the IP?

Thanks

Haze
24-12-2005, 09:03 PM
You can just enter the IP (port number still required), however, if your work turns off their connection at any time, it will flush the IP and give you a new one. This means that you will have to check or write down the IP address of your work each day you wanna use your work PC (to check that the IP is the same and hasn't changed). A good place to check your external IP is http://www.ipchicken.com/ .

Any more questions?

The_End_Of_Reality
24-12-2005, 09:06 PM
We rang xtra and they said the computer had previously been setup for this and has a static ip, what does that mean?

Haze
24-12-2005, 09:24 PM
Static IP means that the IP will not change if the router is turned off, therefore meaning that you will only need to write down the IP address once, seeing as it won't change. Also, it eliminates the need for a DNS service.

The_End_Of_Reality
24-12-2005, 09:29 PM
Cool, I thought so, doesn't hurt to check, I have the IP

I am going to go into work on monday to set this up, but I do still need to put the port in when connecting, which is 5900 default right?

Haze
24-12-2005, 09:37 PM
You will need to have the port opened in the router, which, as you stated correctly earlier is 5900. Other than that you should be sorted, remember that the syntax for the viewer goes like this:
<workip>::5900 (ommitting the '<' and the '>')

If you need help on opening the port, then a great site is http://www.portforward.com/
It has most models of routers and is very comprehensive.

EDIT: Made a mistake with the earlier VNC Viewer syntax, where I unnecessarily included 'http://' which can and should be ommitted.

The_End_Of_Reality
24-12-2005, 09:44 PM
So by installing this program, will it open that port for use?

Haze
24-12-2005, 09:53 PM
No. By installing VNC Server and VNC Viewer you only have the tools for remote desktop access to occur. To open the ports you need to configure your router, which will therefore allow external connections to connect to the computer you want to remotely use.

Opening ports basically leaves a path towards a computer, by opening port 5900 to a computer with an internal IP address of say, 192.168.1.9, anyone who try's to remotely access a computer on your work's external IP address on the port 5900, will get directed to the computer with the internal IP address of 192.168.1.9. You can open multiple ports to access multiple computers. For example, you could map it like this:

192.168.1.1 = 5900
192.168.1.2 = 5901
192.168.1.3 = 5902
etc

To be able to open ports, you should you into the Router Control Panel which is generally accessed by typing into your browser '192.168.1.1'. If you know the model of the router, then http://www.portforward.com/ will have a step-by-step walkthough for you, which should help you out heaps.

The_End_Of_Reality
03-01-2006, 08:59 PM
After trying to find time to set this up, I have finally done it, I got both VNC and RDC working and I think I'll use RDC as it is more suited.

Thanks for your help Haze :D