PDA

View Full Version : Mysterious Internet problem



polo
22-12-2005, 06:48 PM
I am recently having a big problem with my windows me system. I can connect to internet by using my orcon dial-up connection. But I cannot browse any site. I get "The page cannot be displayed msg then after a couple of seconds IE shutsdown automatically. I cannot use orcon accelerator either or neither firefox. when using bit-torrent client Bitcomet 0.60 i get error msg saying "Can not listen to port: 17351. When using limewire i get error msg sying "Firewall bloking limewall's connection to the internet". But i hav no firewall.I checked to see that all my setings are same as before.I scanned my pc wih Mcafee Is 8 but found no threats or viruses. Then I unstalled it but still have the problem. I can do everything else in my pc except using internet.this is the log i get using hijackythis software

Platform: Windows ME (Win9x 4.90.3000)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\HIJACKTHIS\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings,ProxyServer = http=localhost:8080
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'c:\windows\system32\wspirda.dll' missing

Plz help me fix thisis problem

Sultan_Emerr
22-12-2005, 07:08 PM
Mistales:
1. Not having a forewall
2. Turning off a/v
3. Using Limewire
4. Not posting full header(beginging) to HJT log
5. Running a HJT log before a HJT expert told you to
6. Not updating to SP2


Most of the time , this problem is not at your end.It means the site you are trying to access is either experiencing heavier traffic than it can handle, has exceeded its bandwidth allocation , is temporarily down or for some other reason is not accessible. The most common reason for it not to be accessible is a problem where two or more of the backbones of the internet meet and swap data. For some reason requests from people on your backbone are not being routed to the backbone the site is on or vice versa. Again it is not your fault and there is nothing you can do. If it is all sites, it generally means your internet connection is malfunctioning and you need to contact your ISP.

Try tools/internet options/advanced/scroll down to "security" and uncheck the first 3 boxes/apply/ok/ok ,
and then reboot your pc, then scan for spyware and/or trojan infestation.

Check PC date and time. Double click to open and make sure the time zone and daylight savings settings are also correct . Some sites block access when you have incorrect time settings.
Click Start, click Run, type cmd and click OK, at the command prompt type the following commmand = ipconfig /flushdns and then hit the Enter key. Now restart the computer and see if the problem is resolved.

You might also empty your temp internet files folder, and then go to: tools/ internet options/ general/ temp internet files/ settings/check for newest version of pages(either automatic or every time)/ok/ok.
.... And then tools/ io/ security/trusted sites/sites/add that url/ok/apply/ok, and then tools/ io/ security/trusted sites/custom level/low/ok/apply/ok , and then tools/ io/privacy/add that url/allow/ok/apply/ok
Also try tools/internet options/ clear files and cookies/ok/ok
Also, you might want to go to tools/internet options/settings - and move the slider for the amount of disk space to use for the temp internet files folder to the right some, then hit OK/OK. This might reqire a restart for the new setting to take effect, but at least it may be worth a try.

Reboot your pc, then scan for a spyware or trojan infestation. If that doesn't fix it, try tools/internet options/advanced/scroll down to "security" and uncheck the first 3 boxes/apply/ok/ok

[L=Frequently Asked Questions About Page Cannot Be Displayed Errors in Internet Explorer = http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=%2Fsupport%2Fie%2Fie5%2Ftopics%2 Fpcbd.asp

If you are a SpyBotS&D user = In S&D check to make sure under tool/ie tweaks "Lock IE start page setting against user changes (current user)" is NOT checked.

Also See = Page cannot be displayed-Search Index = generation.net = http://www.generation.net/~hleboeuf/canotofd.htm

tweak'e
22-12-2005, 07:11 PM
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'c:\windows\system32\wspirda.dll' missing

there is plenty of LSP repair and winsock repair tools around. get rid of the proxy setting before you fix it.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/LSP-Fix_d4180.html

http://www.majorgeeks.com/WinSock_XP_Fix_d4372.html

polo
23-12-2005, 12:44 PM
I get a msg saying c:\windows\system32\wspirda.dll' missing

tweak'e
23-12-2005, 12:49 PM
I get a msg saying c:\windows\system32\wspirda.dll' missing
whats that got to with the price of fish?

need more info on what you are doing or trying to do.
have a look through the spyware FAQ.

so long and thanks for all the fish :D

Pancake
23-12-2005, 01:27 PM
First get the LSPFix (http://www.cexx.org/LSPFix.exe) and run it....To remove wspirda.dll' from your winsock layers click the "I know what I'm doing" checkbox and check all the instances of wspirda.dll' (and nothing else). Then move checked file/s to the "Remove" pane and click Finish and reboot.

Post a new HJT log when done.

polo
23-12-2005, 04:41 PM
Thanks tweak'e and Pancake the WinSock_XP_ fixd my problem