PDA

View Full Version : New DVD burner

Thomas01
21-12-2005, 04:50 PM
Dick Smiths - just down the road have a DVD burner for $128 which looks pretty good. Most times when I have bought from DSE I have been very pleased and if not, then they have returned my money with no comments except an apology. But this burner does not appear to be the AZUS recomended in the Sept issue of PCWorld. I have no experience of DVD burners and will be installing it myself so am anxious to avoid any problems etc. Anybody out there got experience with this DSE device?
All comments welcome.
Tom

Jen
21-12-2005, 04:55 PM
Is this the DVD writer you are referring to?

CYBER DRIVE DVD ReWriter DX162 (http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/en/product/XH4140)

Metla
21-12-2005, 04:57 PM
Thats not a good price for a DVD Burner, You can get top brand devices for less.

Personally the DSE Cyber Drives make me cringe.(that translates to mouth off in disgust)

snoopy
21-12-2005, 05:02 PM
I have used one of those CyberDrive DVD drives for nearly a year, no problems.

Also have 2 x CyberDrive CDR/RW drives ( 1 x 16x , 1 x 52x) and have no problems with them either.

As always, your mileage can vary, but I can't complain.

ps. No, I don't work for DSE....... LOL :D

bartsdadhomer
21-12-2005, 05:04 PM
As the list member said, it's way over priced and an inferior brand
Go for an LG, Liteon or a Pioneer
Checkout online retailers such as Ascent and also do a search for DVD burners here at PF1, the merits of variuous brands has been discussed much in the past round here

Thomas01
22-12-2005, 09:15 AM
Jen - yes this is the one.