PDA

View Full Version : Win95 boot problem



Greg
21-11-2005, 10:30 AM
I've revived an old machine to give to someone's kids. It won't boot. The machine starts up, gives a quick double beep, hard drive runs, but monitor stays completely blank.

The opsys on the hard drive was working fine and has stayed in it's original case. All the original components are the same, although I've swapped the vid card to test it.

Assuming most of the hardware is all fine, would this point to a RAM failure?

It's strange because the system really hasn't been fiddled with much - just been lying around for about 5 years.

Speedy Gonzales
21-11-2005, 10:33 AM
See if cleaning inside the case helps. It might be a bit dusty, after 5 years.

Greg
21-11-2005, 10:52 AM
See if cleaning inside the case helps. It might be a bit dusty, after 5 years.It's been stored in a climate controlled, statically neutral vaccuum chamber, with correctly ionised air, and 24 hour guard. So nah, I doubt dust has caused the problem. :D

Speedy Gonzales
21-11-2005, 10:54 AM
OK then. Try another videocard, and see if that fixes it.

Or try turning the monitor on :D Or try another monitor.

Is video onboard or in an AGP/PCI slot?

drcspy
21-11-2005, 11:09 AM
Or try turning the monitor on

roflmao

Speedy Gonzales
21-11-2005, 11:27 AM
Or try turning the monitor on

roflmao

I've come across some ppl that didn't realise monitors have power buttons and wondered why they don't go :lol:

Graham L
21-11-2005, 11:31 AM
I'd remove and replace the memory. If it's been sitting for 5 years, with no thermal cycling (that's "being turned off and on" :D) the contacts might be bad. Especially if you've got gold plated SIMMs/SIMMs in tin plated sockets (ior the other way around).

Greg
21-11-2005, 11:48 AM
Tried all the above, thanks. Even a magic dance in front of the machine and sacrificed my children to the bits and bytes gods.

Vid is PCI. No AGP slot.

drcspy
21-11-2005, 12:01 PM
replace the cmos battery if you can it's probably long dead........

Greg
21-11-2005, 12:14 PM
replace the cmos battery if you can it's probably long dead........Aha! Now I shoulda thought of that one! Still a bit dubious as to it working.... but here goes.

Greg
21-11-2005, 12:31 PM
Well it was a good thought, but didn't work. (replaced it with a known working battery).

drcspy
21-11-2005, 12:33 PM
you've tested the monitor on another system ?

Greg
21-11-2005, 01:36 PM
you've tested the monitor on another system ?Yeah. And tried a couple of other monitors.

I'm not short of kit (http://www.tradef1.co.nz/item.php?item_id=280&PHPSESSID=032d2eb2a805f12492d3c2bbe3b3d436) for testing stuff.