PDA

View Full Version : Apache



CorbinH
22-10-2005, 05:07 PM
Earlier today I got very bored, so I installed apache. I was wondering how (if its possible) to host a web site? Since im in a network is it possible??? I can get my files to load when i either go to http://localhost/ or http://127.0.0.1, now all im tryin to figure out how to do is get it where someone else can get to my files? I've tried going to my Ip address but it just takes me to my router config page... Someone please help me...

Thanks to anyone who helps
-Corbin

wuppo
22-10-2005, 05:14 PM
Firstly, you need to give the machine running apache a fixed ip, as apposed to one served up via DHCP from your router.

Secondly, enable port forwarding in your router to the IP of your server machine, for services you wish to respond to ( e.g. port 80 for HTTP).

Thirdly, you won't be able to check it works (using your public IP) from behind your router - you will need to get someone else to try from "outside".

CorbinH
22-10-2005, 05:26 PM
Hmm well my friends on MSN messenger can see it. I set up port fowarding and stuff earlier i was just confused why i saw my router config page. I understand why now lol. So is it possible to assign something.com to it???

wuppo
22-10-2005, 05:34 PM
There are some free DNS servers around (if you have a static public IP) - google for them.

If you don't have a static public IP, you can use a free 'dynamic' IP service like no-ip.com .

CorbinH
22-10-2005, 05:59 PM
My ip is static. I registered with zoneedit.com but now i cant figure out what

IMPORTANT: Before your site is live
you must contact your registrar (the people from whom
you purchased this domain name) and tell them to change its
nameservers to:

Nameserver 1: ns2.zoneedit.com (69.72.158.226)
Nameserver 2: ns17.zoneedit.com (209.126.159.118)

means.... does it mean in apache's httpd.conf file to change "ServerName localhost" to "ServerName ns2.zoneedit.com ns17.zoneedit.com"???

Graham L
23-10-2005, 02:07 PM
No. :D

The nameservers referred to are the ones maintained by "zoneedit" as the Authoritative sources for the IP addresses of any host names provided by them. They are necessary so other people can find your site by using the DNS system.

In http.conf set "ServerName somebody.com", as you would expect. That is the name it returns to queries. I suppose it will work even with "localhost" as the name ... because it will never be accessed as 127.0.0.1 from outside ... access from the Internet is always through the IP address, either drectly given by the remote user, or as the result of DNS name resolution.