PDA

View Full Version : Network Setup Help please



Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 09:35 PM
HI

I bought a cross over cable Cat6 Cable at dicksmith.

I've plugged he cable at both end on two computer.

I thought that the computer would recognize the connection but obviously isn't

Can anyone there please tell me how I go by setting it up?

Thanks

godfather
21-10-2005, 10:01 PM
Inform please the Windows version of each computer?

Assuming you are using Windows....

Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 10:02 PM
Windows Xp service pack 2 on both computer

bob_doe_nz
21-10-2005, 10:22 PM
is there any network connection bubble at the bottom right?

do you have a firewall running? that will block pings if not setup to allow access.

Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 10:25 PM
There's a local area connection icon.It says network cable is unplugged but its plugged in

Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 10:25 PM
No firewall installed.Even disabled windows firewall.

bob_doe_nz
21-10-2005, 10:29 PM
right click and click reconnect/repair... (cant remember name)

Edit: Can you ping each other?

Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 10:34 PM
right click and click reconnect/repair... (cant remember name)

Edit: Can you ping each other?


Not sure where to right click to reconnect

Im not sure how to ping each other either.

bob_doe_nz
21-10-2005, 10:41 PM
right click network icon and click reconnect

have you set up IP addresses for each computer?

Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 10:46 PM
right click icon and click reconnect

have you set up IP addresses for each computer?

Right click the lan connection icon only says change firewall settings and open network connection.

No, have not setup Ip yet.

Ninjabear
21-10-2005, 11:28 PM
I have setup Ip and subnet address on both computers.

After plugging the Cat6 cable on both network card on both machine the computer doesnt detect the cable and keeps saying that a network cable is unplugged.

Have i missed out something?