PDA

View Full Version : formatted C drive but now can't find D drive partition is not there

sha49
20-10-2005, 06:04 AM
I recently formatted C drive it works fine now. My problem is with the D drive, the manufacturer suggested running a data recovery software to be able to get my info and pictures back and then format it through fdisk. He said that he doesn't know if it is the files or the partition that is bad but that a data recovery program can try to get these back? How do I go about this? Which program is the best for windows 98?

Thanks for any help that can be given!
Sha :help:

Renmoo
20-10-2005, 07:06 AM
I'm no pro in HDD field, but I suggest you providing us more information. How do your HDD connect to your Mobo? Via SATA, PATA (IDE) etc.? RAID configuration etc.? Brand / model of your HDD etc.

Cheers :)

drcspy
20-10-2005, 08:05 AM
anything that'll do a 'raw' recovery..........try 'easy recovery pro'.......

sha49
20-10-2005, 10:02 AM
I am not sure how it connects or what the difference is. how do I find out? The hard drive is made by maxtor:Max-Blast plus2 version 1.00.

Battleneter
20-10-2005, 07:13 PM
I recently formatted C drive it works fine now. My problem is with the D drive, the manufacturer suggested running a data recovery software to be able to get my info and pictures back and then format it through fdisk. He said that he doesn't know if it is the files or the partition that is bad but that a data recovery program can try to get these back? How do I go about this? Which program is the best for windows 98?

Thanks for any help that can be given!
Sha :help:

It is likely your "D" drive disappeared because it was (and may well still be) compressed. I can't remember exactly how, but you may need to run drivespace and remount the drive. Your compression data would have been on C drive.

All your data may still be there. I can't remember how to do this, and don't run 98 anymore. Maybe some else can list how.

Battleneter
20-10-2005, 07:17 PM