PDA

View Full Version : PC133 Memory Query



Quiet
19-10-2005, 10:27 AM
HI there: Have an old ASUS P5-99VM motherboard. Has three slots , currently populated with two x sticks of 128MB PC100. Thought I would upgrade the last slot with a 256MB stick. Purchased PC133 (this is meant to work it out and step into line at 100 isn't it) and the computer is only picking up 384MB. Did a bit of mooching around and it looks like the Computer is picking up the 256Mb as 4x64 and therefore not coping with the 128MB.

Have mixed and matched a little and am sure that this is not a slot dependent problem and that all of the sticks are in themselves functional. Each slot should cope with 256MB up to a system maximum of 768MB.

Have I purchased the wrong type of PC133 or do I really have to go back and find some PC100?

Thanks
Scott

Rob99
19-10-2005, 11:07 AM
Guessing that it is something to do with double/single side RAM.

Your mobo may only support 3 sides of RAM

Speedy Gonzales
19-10-2005, 11:46 AM
What version of Windows, is on it? And how many megs is the videocard?

64 or 128mb?

If its a 128mb videocard.

Thats why u see 384 mb. 128+128+256 = 512 - 128 = 384

Quiet
19-10-2005, 12:46 PM
What version of Windows, is on it? And how many megs is the videocard?

64 or 128mb?

If its a 128mb videocard.

Thats why u see 384 mb. 128+128+256 = 512 - 128 = 384
Mother board has a whold 8MB of video memory on board. Don't think it actually shares system memory.

Speedy Gonzales
19-10-2005, 12:55 PM
Hmm ok.

Doesnt look like the mobo is the prob, as it looks like it supports up to 768 mb.

And what version of Windows is installed on the computer??

Rob99
19-10-2005, 01:22 PM
http://dlsvr01.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/sock7/sis530/p5-99vm/p599vm-104.pdf

Dosent matter what OS, how much RAM shows in the POST and BIOS

PENTIUM
19-10-2005, 05:09 PM
You were right the first time.
I have had experience with this stuff and matching the RAM is best, these boards do not much care for 'mix n match'.

linw
19-10-2005, 10:36 PM
Been there and done that! I currently run a 256MB stick as 128MB cos my secondary machine's older mobo (FIC VB-601) doesn't handle 8 chip 256's. My mobo docs say it takes 256 but when it was made they didn't have any to try so they just sort of hoped! There are 16 chip 256's that are supposed to be more compatible with older boards but I am not buying any more to experiment with. To add insult to injury, they are a fair bit dearer than modern ones!

tweak'e
19-10-2005, 10:45 PM
you will proberly find that it only handles 128 meg per side, 3 slots = 6 sides x 128 = 768meg total.

Quiet
11-12-2005, 09:01 PM
HI all: Should have updated this some time ago. found the answer. Turns out my mo'board does not know about high density RAM and so the solution was to go for low density stuff. That is with chips on both sides. I was also able to source some that was only $9 +GST dearer. It is a tough job helping friends out isn't it.

Thanks for all your help.

Scott


Been there and done that! I currently run a 256MB stick as 128MB cos my secondary machine's older mobo (FIC VB-601) doesn't handle 8 chip 256's. My mobo docs say it takes 256 but when it was made they didn't have any to try so they just sort of hoped! There are 16 chip 256's that are supposed to be more compatible with older boards but I am not buying any more to experiment with. To add insult to injury, they are a fair bit dearer than modern ones!

Lurking
12-12-2005, 12:16 PM
As with a post on 56k Modem. This surplus pc had stats for having 576mb ram.

Tried putting in another 256ram stick and got the 1-3-4 beeps Memory types mixed-unbuffered and registered.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Lurking.

Win98SE