PDA

View Full Version : PC vs Mac

symiggy
17-10-2005, 11:23 AM
I go through this mental exercise every time I need to upgrade my system.
Although I am by no means an expert, all the experience that I do have with computers is with PC, and this is probably true for most computer users in NZ.
However both my brother and his wife are professional photographers and they swear by their Macs. And literally beg me to change to that format every time I'm in the market for a new system.
I would really appreciate hearing the views of the experts on this forum since I have found their comments and suggestions very helpful in the past.
Thanks.

Metla
17-10-2005, 11:34 AM
Depends on why they insist a Mac is better.

Generally you will have to spend at least twice as much money on a Mac to get one with the same capabilites of a PC. The upgrade path is limited and expensive, Repairs generally have to be done through the proper channels so they too will be expensive if required.

They are only as stable as a good quality XP computer,and in many cases less so.Some find the OS more intuitive.Software is limited and you generally either end up forced to use what Apple iforce on you as part of the bundle or shell out big bucks.

I would suggest you ask them to list why they think you should switch...

Rob99
17-10-2005, 11:46 AM
Would also help to know what you want your new computer to do. Play games, email and surf, word processing, software development, movie making, music making, etc

symiggy
17-10-2005, 11:48 AM
Metla: I would suggest you ask them to list why they think you should switch...