PDA

View Full Version : My zone alarm doesn't appear to be working



JSF_enthusiast
04-10-2005, 02:08 PM
I got boardband today and now my zone alarm does not appear to be working. It hasn't blocked a single attack in five hours of us. I was wondering should I reinstall it to make sure it is blocking on the boardband connection not the old dial up one.

Trev
04-10-2005, 02:15 PM
What sort of broadband modem do you have. Most have a built in firewall of some sorts. I would say your Zone Alarm is working perfectly.

Trevor :)

Prescott
04-10-2005, 02:22 PM
what version are you running?

JSF_enthusiast
04-10-2005, 02:25 PM
i am running version 6.0.667.000 of Zone alarm
I have a D-link DSL-302G modem

Odin
04-10-2005, 03:09 PM
What makes you think it isn't blocking attacks. Are you getting attacked and they are getting through? Or are you just not getting the alerts popping up all the time. If it is the latter it may just be because you aren't getting attacked. And if it is the first then how do you know the attacks are getting through?

JSF_enthusiast
04-10-2005, 03:16 PM
I am used to getting around one hundred per day, i am getting nothig now, its just wierd.

Odin
04-10-2005, 03:32 PM
You may have clicked the option to work in silent mode, in other words it may be blocking things but won't alert you unless it is a serious threat. Open it up and check the logs. Also your broadband router may also have its firewall enabled. Usually and attacker will attcke the router first then locate the computers connected to it, but first they ahve to get passed the router (assuming you are using a broadband router that is)

Prescott
04-10-2005, 03:35 PM
you can test out your firewall here (https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2) but i think there is nothing wrong with it...

godfather
04-10-2005, 04:01 PM
The D-link DSL-302G has Network Address Translation (NAT) (as all good routers should have) which means your software firewall should never even know of any inward attempts, they cannot get through the router which is an inward coming hardware firewall.

If ZA ever saw inward activity I would be very concerned behind a NAT router.

JSF_enthusiast
04-10-2005, 04:23 PM
OK so my zone alarm doesnt have to do muc hanymore then, so thats why i am getting no attakcs?

Edward
04-10-2005, 04:55 PM
No, because your ADSL modem/NAT Router will block incoming attacks

Don't uninstall Zonealarm though, as NAT dosen't block outgoing attacks- which zonealarm does

tweak'e
05-10-2005, 10:45 AM
as already mentioned the router stops MOST of the incoming "attacks".
you still need a firewall for the application contoll.