PDA

View Full Version : Windows Me freezing on startup and shutdown

rogsv8
02-10-2005, 10:58 AM
Hi guys....i'm basically a novice only with computers,and use it mostley for the Net,problem is my computer has recentley been freezing up every other time on startup,just after the Windows Me logo appears,and i get just a blue screen,and the harddrive itself sounds like it is struggling at this time.Also now it is not shutting down every other time as well...you guessed it frozen blue screen.
I have Norton antivirus 2005,and is updated regularly,the latest free Zonealarm,and Adaware,i do Scandisk and a Defrag every other month,and a clear out of cookies and Temp Internet folders

Any help much appreciated
Rog

bartsdadhomer
02-10-2005, 11:23 AM
Go start run and type msconfig press enter
Under the startup tab untick all entries and reboot
Does this make any difference?
If it does, go back in and retick each entry until the problem reoccurs and you have found the culprit
Also download CCleaner and run it
Make sure you use the registry cleaner that comes with it as well
Say yes to a backup when prompted

More info on CPU speed, Amount of Ram etc would help
ME is a dog on some hardware and it may be a faulty Ram stick, Power Supply, capacitor, video card, failing hard drive etc
It will be a process of elimination I'm afraid

rogsv8
02-10-2005, 11:40 AM
Cheers for that,i'll try what you said......i do have 128.0 MB of RAM,and system resources are 40% free,i don't know how to tell what the CPU speed is...
Rog

bartsdadhomer
02-10-2005, 11:48 AM
CPU size
Go start > run type in dxdiag press enter
After a minute or so a box will appear and your cpu make and size will be displayed in the list of info on the first page along with the amount of Ram etc

40% free isn't much I'd say there is far too much loading at boot time
Most of it will be unecceassary
Nortons will be hogging most of it, it's very resource hungry