PDA

View Full Version : What's a good laptop?



mejobloggs
30-09-2005, 11:01 PM
My brother wants a new laptop, mainly for CAD work. One program he will be using a lot is Solidworks.

I think CAD stuff takes a fair bit of ram, so he can just get the shop to add more if it doesn't have enough I guess. Would 512mb be ok?

Doesn't need to be able to play games above AOE2, wich will run on integrated graphics ok i think.

Looking at around $1000 - $1500

Any suggestions?

Thanks

mejobloggs
30-09-2005, 11:20 PM
http://www.samcor.co.nz/specials/specials.asp?pid=114&sc=1

Any good?

Tux
30-09-2005, 11:51 PM
cad takes more than just ram, infact it would be slow as a ***** on a celeron, spend the money now, he'll regret it in the long term if he doesnt

somebody
01-10-2005, 08:33 AM
Acer 3002WLMi Laptop from DSe. I have one, and it's great (after a significant RAM upgrade - I added an extra 512mb). Be wary that it has quite a short battery life though (approx 1 hr in real world situations).

stu161204
01-10-2005, 12:14 PM
Acer 3002WLMi Laptop from DSe. I have one, and it's great

I also have that one as well & I agree its great as well :)


(after a significant RAM upgrade - I added an extra 512mb).

Iam still on the 256 mb of ram :D

somebody
01-10-2005, 06:59 PM
I found it a bit slow on 256mb of RAM. I would strongly suggest that you upgrade it - you notice an AMAZING difference.

Standing_Amazed
01-10-2005, 11:18 PM
I have an Acer 3002WLMi too - best bang for buck around. Upgrade the RAM to at least 512mb though.

mattyjb
01-10-2005, 11:55 PM
Being poor i myself dont have a laptop but I have used CAD etc so I can recommend a few things:
- dont get a celeron, theyr fine for dektop processing but running anything requiring a but of grunt and id rather opt for lugging a desktop around.
- Get at least 512 ram but you'll probably want more depending on how you use CAD
- dont go for a screen less that 15" unless you want an ultr-portable
- again not sure what graphics processing you require but prehaps consider something with dedicated memory for graphics

hope that helps a bit
M@TT

stu161204
02-10-2005, 12:42 AM
I found it a bit slow on 256mb of RAM. I would strongly suggest that you upgrade it - you notice an AMAZING difference.

Unlucky I did not have that option when I got mine :( (I wonder if it the same Acer 3002WLMi as me?)

Standing_Amazed & somebody do you have a 15.4WXGA Wide LCD screen with up to 1280 X 800 Resolution ?

somebody
02-10-2005, 07:33 AM
Unlucky I did not have that option when I got mine :( (I wonder if it the same Acer 3002WLMi as me?)

Standing_Amazed & somebody do you have a 15.4WXGA Wide LCD screen with up to 1280 X 800 Resolution ?

I bought an extra 512mb module from Ascent and installed it myself.

And, yes, I do. This model: http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.storefront/en/product/XC3569