PDA

View Full Version : Safedisc ... anyone else have experience with this ?



KiwiTT_NZ
28-09-2005, 03:16 PM
On another forum, I read that to get my game to play I should upgrade my safedisc driver (secdrv.sys) supplied by Macrovision (http://www.macrovision.com/products/safedisc/downloads.shtml)

My favorite game "Medieval:Total War" crashed to desktop everytime I loaded a campaign after I had to use a later NVIDIA driver for my GF6600GT. It has been suggested that this will fix that problem.

Anyone else have experience with this driver ?

Murray P
28-09-2005, 08:41 PM
No and I'm not sure what the graphics driver would have to do with DRM.

Safedisk should just stop you playing the file, but who knows what they'll do in an effort to cripple your rights.

Chilling_Silence
29-09-2005, 10:20 AM
I would be inclined to download Alcohol 52% and use that to assist you with running the game :)

ClonyXXL will tell you more about the copy protection on the game. Yes its in German by default but you can feel your way through to the options to change it to english (At least it was when I last used it)

pctek
29-09-2005, 02:34 PM
On another forum, I read that to get my game to play I should upgrade my safedisc driver (secdrv.sys) supplied by Macrovision (http://www.macrovision.com/products/safedisc/downloads.shtml)

My favorite game "Medieval:Total War" crashed to desktop everytime I loaded a campaign after I had to use a later NVIDIA driver for my GF6600GT. It has been suggested that this will fix that problem.

Anyone else have experience with this driver ?
If you updated your card driver and then the game had a problem, roll back to an earlier graphics driver. Nothing to do with the games copy protection...

KiwiTT_NZ
29-09-2005, 05:17 PM
I can roll-back to an earlier driver that works as my card needs the later drivers.