PDA

View Full Version : Advice on a new Computer

Der Drachen
28-09-2005, 02:28 PM
I'm looking for a new computer & Palmerston North's InHouse Computers (http://www.inhouse.co.nz) looks like a good place.
They've been there for a long time & their reputation is pretty good (I think).
I don't really want a state of the art one that will be half the price in a year.

I'm thinking of the AMD Enthusiast System.
It'll be used for gaming & the internet.

I know a bit about computers but I'm by no means an expert,

My Questions
1. Is this a suitable computer for gaming?
2. Is there anything that screams out to be upgraded or added?
3. Can anyone suggest a better shop in Palmerston North (Reputation/Price)

Here's the stat's from the site

*AMD Athlon64 3500+ Processor
Latest Socket 939 CPU interface
PCI-Express Technology Is Here

*1GB DDR-SDRAM PC3200 Memory
Dual Channel Performance Configuration!

*ATi RADEON X600XT 128MB Graphics Card
PCI-Express Graphics!

*17” Philips Fast Response LCD Screen
*16 X DUAL LAYER DUAL FORMAT DVD Writer
*160GB SATA 7200RPM Hard Disk Drive
*Black 2.1 Speakers with Sub-Woofer
*Black/Silver Keyboard and Optical Mouse
*56K Internal Voice/Fax Modem

*Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
*DVD/CD Writing Software
*AntiVirus Software

Hopefully my post is coherant enough :waughh:

Thanks
- Daniel

Metla
28-09-2005, 02:43 PM
They are a pretty good company, I used to deal with them before I started my own bizzo and I never had any complaints.

As to the system, Looks alright though the video card isn't great and they dont specify the motherboard. I would ask what the specs of the LCD are rather then just having it listed as "fast response", 4 ms is what I would call fast....Same goes for the DVD drive, what brand/model is it?

Price is high.

Battleneter
28-09-2005, 02:44 PM
I won't comment of the company, no idea, and the price looks pretty good (definately within the ballpark).