PDA

View Full Version : Overheating?

JJJJJ
13-09-2005, 02:37 PM
This afternoon I have a 25 degree temp in the air surrounding my computer.
Playing with MS Flight Sim. I am getting pauses "for reloading" every two or three minutes. At other times scenery is losing it's colour and detail.

After closing down game and finding my probe details I have a CPU temp of 54. a motherboard of 48, and a temp of 44 in Hard disk. I realise this is getting a bit warm but it should be OK. Well within limits.

After leaving comp idleing for ten minutes while I got myself a drink the temps have settled at 44, 38 and 31.

I have another case fan that is not monitored.

I realize these temps are probably not completely accurate, but they are an indication.

Does my game problem sound like an overheating problem?

Metla
13-09-2005, 02:40 PM
No.

Sounds like a disk acessing issue.

Kill off background apps, and do a defragg.

JJJJJ
13-09-2005, 02:57 PM
The program has a partition all to itself and "defrag" won't even try and defrag the drive.

Battleneter
13-09-2005, 05:09 PM
No.

Sounds like a disk acessing issue.

Kill off background apps, and do a defragg.

I agree, sounds like disk pages or fragmentation. MS flight sim runs crappy on less than a gig of ram. On a gig it runs well on my PC.

JJJJJ
13-09-2005, 05:16 PM
I agree, sounds like disk pages or fragmentation. MS flight sim runs crappy on less than a gig of ram. On a gig it runs well on my PC.
It's got a gig of ram. And it only started playing up in the heat this afternoon

Graham L
13-09-2005, 05:52 PM
25 degrees? "Heat"? About time you got an air conditioner, anyway, and made your contribution to using up the extra cheap electricity made available by the miracle of the market.

tweak'e
13-09-2005, 06:45 PM
After leaving comp idleing for ten minutes while I got myself a drink the temps have settled at 44, 38 and 31.