PDA

View Full Version : BIOS detects primary slave HD but Win98se does not



JazLori
07-09-2005, 07:46 AM
I am trying to add a primary slave 40gb hd to my system. Cables and jumpers are good and the drive appears in BIOS/bootup but I cannot install, see or find the drive from windows (My Computer) What's up? Thanks for any help.
jazlori

CYaBro
07-09-2005, 10:15 AM
Welcome to PressF1!

If it is a brand new drive you will need to fdisk it first before Win98 will see it.
If it has come from another PC it may be formated to NTFS which Win98 will not see either.

tommy
07-09-2005, 10:16 AM
Has the hard drive been formatted yet? If not you need to format it by using a Windows 98 boot disk.

JazLori
07-09-2005, 12:42 PM
Brilliant guys. I'll give that a try. Thanks