PDA

View Full Version : Very Slow XP Computer

B.M.
03-09-2005, 09:58 PM
A mate’s dropped of this Compaq Presario computer running a AMD 1996 m/hz (does that sound right?) processor, 256mh/z Ram with XP home OS.

Now, the problem was that it hardly went at all. It’s a couple of years old and has had no maintenance what so ever.

So, I installed Ad-Aware, Spybot & ewido, brought them right up to date, and promptly removed 1700, yes 1700, ad-ware etc. infections. :horrified

Interestingly, AVG (updated) found nothing. :confused:

Then I installed System-Works and sorted out a couple of hundred crook registry entries etc.

Finally, I defragged, but the damn thing is still slower than my first 286.

If it were mine I’d format and start again, but it isn’t and it has a lot of business information on it, which I can’t afford to loose.

The question therefore is what more can I do? I’ve had very little experience with XP and wonder if has a repair programme or similar that I can run?

Any suggestions welcome. :)

Bob

Speedy Gonzales
03-09-2005, 10:08 PM
Put more ram in it. You'll be surprised what more ram can do, when using XP.

Greven
03-09-2005, 10:12 PM
In my experience, once it gets to that stage, it is too late. Back up everything you want to keep, then if you have room on one of your other computers, make a ghost image of the entire drive (just in case you think of something later that you wished you had got off it), wipe it clean & reinstall.

512mb of RAM would be good for it, but it won't make that much difference unless it has had a lot of extra bloated apps installed on it.

B.M.
03-09-2005, 10:15 PM
I'm sure RAM would help Speedy but this machine has another problem somewhere.

My son has a similar machine running XP with 256 RAM and it’s 10 times faster than this one. :D

Speedy Gonzales
03-09-2005, 10:20 PM
The CPU might be faster. CPU speed makes a diff too with XP.

Or it maybe running more programs on startup, than your sons.

Greven