PDA

View Full Version : DVD-RW drive won't work with CD-RW drive



chairmanmao
24-08-2005, 11:36 PM
Hi
I've just installed a Pioneer DVR-A0XL drive (set as the Master) into my Compaq Presario (2.2 Athlon, 40 Gb HD, 384 Mb Ram, just added a 2nd hand ATI Radeon 9600 Pro - cos I thought that was causing my DVD video problem, good excuse to buy one tho).

I'd thought I'd leave in my old CD-RW - so I had them sharing the same IDE cable - which is connected to the secondary slot on the motherboard.

The CD-RW worked fine, but the DVRW would only partially read CDs like your magazine's bundled CD, dropping images and quite slow to read the CD. It would not read any DVDs. I didn't even bother to try and burn a DVD.

Got some advice off the internet - and removed the IDE connection to the CD-RW. The DVD-RW now works great - but I obviously can't use the CD-RW or possibly a DVD player drive. The various discussions on solving the problem got too technical for me (or maybe I just lost patience!!) - was wondering if you could provide some plain English advice to resolve this problem.

Thanks

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2005, 09:04 AM
Did u set the CDRW as slave (its jumper)?

And configure the CDRW in the BIOS as slave?

chairmanmao
25-08-2005, 09:24 PM
Hi

Yes CD-RW is set to Slave. Reconnected drive.

Rebooted and checked BIOS, CD drive is set to slave.

Still no joy. Also PC noticeably slower on bootup.

Also checked Secondary IDE channel properties
Device 0
Transfer mode: DMA if avail
Current transfer mode: Ultra DMA Mode 4

Device 1
Transfer mode: DMA if avail
Current transfer mode: Ultra DMA Mode 2

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2005, 09:29 PM
What version of the firmware is on the dvd burner?

The DMA looks OK, and it should work. What version of Windows is installed?

Have you defragged the hdd recently?

pctek
25-08-2005, 09:30 PM
You also might want to make sure you are using the drive with an 80 channel IDE cable - not a standard 40.

chairmanmao
25-08-2005, 10:47 PM
f/w 1.57 (2005/7/5)

XP with service pack 2

Defragged on last Sunday

chairmanmao
25-08-2005, 10:48 PM
sorry ... but how do you tell if its an 80 channel not a 40?

Speedy Gonzales
25-08-2005, 11:00 PM
80 - conductor ribbon cable - has a blue IDE connection on the mobo end.

40 pin doesnt.

chairmanmao
26-08-2005, 07:50 PM
Installed the 80 channel IDE cable - IT DID THE TRICK!!!

Brilliant - thanks folks for the help