PDA

View Full Version : Corel Paintshop Pro 9 vs Adobe illustrator CS2 12

splatman41
16-08-2005, 07:53 PM
I am thinking of buy a graphical design program.

Being a student, i can buy the academic version of Adobe Illustrator CS2 12 for around $160 (normally about $920)

Corel [formerly JASC] Paintshop Pro 9 can be purchased for around $340.

I want to know which program would be better to make pictures as a MS Paint replacement for me, who has no experience in graphical design above MS Paint.

Please Help

Thanks.

Speedy Gonzales
16-08-2005, 07:59 PM
Anything is better than MS Paint.

These programs do things totally different.

Illustrator deals more with vector gfx doesnt it? and PSP deals with gfx formats, Jpegs etc.

splatman41
16-08-2005, 08:01 PM
I dont know. I was just reading the PC World awards thing, and Adobe Illustrator Came first in graphical editing and i was just wondering about it. I already know what Paintshop Pro9 can do.

quarry
16-08-2005, 11:46 PM
I dont know. I was just reading the PC World awards thing, and Adobe Illustrator Came first in graphical editing and i was just wondering about it. I already know what Paintshop Pro9 can do.

You are comparing the wrong software - illustrator is for drawing, paintshop is for photo editing. what you should look at is coreldraw - which is similar to illustrator.

splatman41
16-08-2005, 11:52 PM
I was sure that Paintshop Pro was a draw suite among other things.

Look Here (http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y146/Devlin_666/Step1.jpg).

that has drawing tools on the left, but they look like they are a class higher than the tools in MS Paint. [i borrowed this pic from a friend]

Speedy Gonzales
17-08-2005, 12:02 AM
Most of those tools on the left in PSP 9 u use after u load a graphic/photo.

(about 40-50 formats)

For editing etc. I've got PSP 9 on here at the mo.

And adding text to them/filling in whatever with colors.

Catweazle
17-08-2005, 12:15 AM