PDA

View Full Version : questions on xp



csupercool
13-08-2005, 08:16 PM
i use windows xp home .on my desk top i have a spot on the left side of the desk top that is 2 and 1\2 inch wide ,it gose up and down it has details and oter docs in the spot . how do i get rid of this , and would the book windows xp for dummies be any help next time, thanks bryan

pctek
13-08-2005, 08:46 PM
i use windows xp home .on my desk top i have a spot on the left side of the desk top that is 2 and 1\2 inch wide ,it gose up and down it has details and oter docs in the spot . how do i get rid of this , and would the book windows xp for dummies be any help next time, thanks bryan
What sort of "spot"?? A tool bar of some kind?
Right click it and see if there is a menu to turn it off.

csupercool
13-08-2005, 08:58 PM
yes it is a tool bar of some kind , right clicking dose nothing

Elephant
13-08-2005, 11:27 PM
yes it is a tool bar of some kind , right clicking dose nothing

Sorry to ask but have you moved the taskbar?

csupercool
14-08-2005, 12:14 AM
Sorry to ask but have you moved the taskbar?
no i have not moved it . if for some reason i am loged on say aol then open yahoo it cant be on the same page any longer

Elephant
14-08-2005, 12:40 AM
no i have not moved it . if for some reason i am loged on say aol then open yahoo it cant be on the same page any longer

Possibly we are getting toward the root of the problem. (Maybe)

Does this "toolbar" start up when you reboot?
Has it got a red X in the top right hand corner and mention sign on?
Is it MSN messenger maybe?

Go through the FAQs here on how to post a screen shot. Bear in mind that imageF1 is not here any more at the moment. If you can send a screenshot to anywhere and then post a link it will help.

Rob99
14-08-2005, 01:36 AM
Are you viewing web content on your desktop??

sal
14-08-2005, 02:53 AM
on my desk top i have a spot on the left side of the desk top that is 2 and 1\2 inch wide ,it gose up and down
That doesn't sound nice, take a screenshot as suggested earlier via directions in the screenshot FAQ (http://pressf1.co.nz/faq.php?faq=faq_pressf1_root#faq_pressf1_faq_07) (the URL in that FAQ is old), upload the file to here (http://imagef1.x10hosting.com/).

Could be adware but we'll see.

csupercool
14-08-2005, 05:49 AM
in the two inch stip that goes down the left side of the screen it says , folder task, other places,details, and on the side of the strip starts my desk top icons

Cicero
14-08-2005, 08:50 AM
in the two inch stip that goes down the left side of the screen it says , folder task, other places,details, and on the side of the strip starts my desk top icons
Seems people don't know what you mean exactly,I most certainly don't.
Do as Sal says and all will be sorted.

FoxyMX
14-08-2005, 08:59 AM
in the two inch stip that goes down the left side of the screen it says , folder task, other places,details, and on the side of the strip starts my desk top icons
Have you got Microsoft Office installed? That sounds like its toolbar.

Jen
14-08-2005, 09:18 AM
Just to add to the guesses, if it is a wide greyish colour strip then I have seen it before as well. One of the guys at work always manages to get this toolbar displaying on his desktop (XP) all the time. It has the same sort of content showing that your one does. I'm sorry I can't recall the name of this taskbar, but it was fairly easy to get rid off each time. Can't remember what I did to close it, but try right-clicking on it and see what options you get or right-clicking on a free spot on the desktop and have a look at the options there.

Hmm ... just did a google on your description and from what I know about it, and found that it is probably the common tasks pane which is appearing on your desktop. There is a permanent fix to prevent this happening again which you can download from here (http://www.dougknox.com/xp/scripts_desc/xp_commtask_desktop.htm).

Jen
15-08-2005, 05:23 PM
csupercool:
Any feedback on whether your problem has been solved? If not, then post a screenshot as suggested so that we can see what this toolbar looks like. :)

csupercool
15-08-2005, 09:08 PM
well jen i did what you said ,and the two inch stip is gone ,ya , but now it is switched places ,so before i had the two inch strip and then desk top ,so now i have two inch of desk top and ten inch of white line ? what the heck ?

Jen
15-08-2005, 09:11 PM
Take a screenshot of your desktop and upload it here (http://imagef1.x10hosting.com/upload/) and post back with the URL. You can find instructions on taking screenshots here (http://imagef1.x10hosting.com/information/). This may give us a better idea of what is happening.

csupercool
16-08-2005, 01:33 AM
:D wanted to say i fixed my problem,it was a type of tool box . the reason it wouldnt move or do any thing was it was locked . after i found that out it was all down hill. thank you to every one that gave me there two cents worth ,soooooooooo A BIG THANKS