PDA

View Full Version : DVDRW won't go dma



rstarr
11-08-2005, 09:59 PM
I just put in a new motherboard and everything is working well except my DVDRW. It seems to be stuck in PIO mode. The IDE channel is set to DMA if available but runs in PIO. Thus it runs extremely slow.

DVDRW: MicroAdvantage 8DVDRW-B13
MOBO: Chaintech 7NJL6 with nVidia nForce2 400+MCP-S

I allowed the system to boot to the OS (XP Pro) before installing the mobo drivers (first time puttin a mobo in), so i'm not sure if that caused the problem or how to remedy anything caused by that.

Thanks for any help.

Speedy Gonzales
11-08-2005, 10:07 PM
What IDE connection is it on? Primary or secondary?

And what else is on the same IDE connection, this burner is on? Anything?

tweak'e
11-08-2005, 10:12 PM
new motherboard? was the OS reinstalled or was it just a cleanout and install the new drivers?

rstarr
11-08-2005, 10:12 PM
It's on secondary, set as slave with a CD-ROM as primary, using an 80-wire cable.

I tried hooking just it up as master with 80-wire and then just it as master with a 40-wire cable, and those lead to the drive only being seen as a CD drive not DVDRW.

80-wire vs. 40-wire shouldnt make a difference as long as I have the black going into master and grey into slave, right?

rstarr
11-08-2005, 10:13 PM
same OS, when it booted up XP found all the new hardware and grabbed all the drivers.

Speedy Gonzales
11-08-2005, 10:17 PM
As long as the stripe (either white/red, or other on one side of the ide cable) is going to pin 1 on the mobo connection, thats fine. 80 wire is fine too.

And just as long as one has been jumpered to master and one to slave. And theyre on AUTO in the BIOS for secondary master/slave.

You did put the cd on master didnt u?? Not both on slave?

Just make sure neither are on the same IDE as a hdd.

godfather
11-08-2005, 10:25 PM
Are you running XP on a motherboard with different chipsets than the one XP was installed on to the HDD?

If so, thats not adviseable, a complete fresh install is usually the only way to get everything to operate correctly with XP.

rstarr
11-08-2005, 10:27 PM
Yeah, cables in correctly, jumpers set correctly. Gotta wait another 45 min til this dvd finishes burning to check the BIOS, but i feel like i left it on auto. During startup the cd is displayed as master and the dvdrw as slave.

rstarr
11-08-2005, 10:29 PM
Yeah, old install. I'll reinstall XP tomorrow. Duh, makes sense. Thanks.

rstarr
12-08-2005, 08:06 AM
Reinstalling got the DVDRW up and runnin correctly, thanks.
I might go ahead and reformat my HD to start completely from scratch, when doing so do I install the mobo drivers first or the OS?

Rob99
12-08-2005, 10:15 AM
OS first

FoxyMX
12-08-2005, 10:21 AM
Install Windows first then the motherboard drivers.

[Edit: Oops, too slow...]