PDA

View Full Version : My PC woes



KiwiTT_NZ
25-07-2005, 12:23 PM
I was enjoying a "Club Commitee" chat session, when I noticed the smell of smoke. I even went outside to check, However, it soon became obvious that it was coming from my PC. It was not even because the chat was too hot either.

I opened the case and looked inside, I smelled smoke coming out from under the graphics card. I thought, thats it a new graphics card required. I looked a little further and discovered that it wasn't the card and sure enough a component had burnt out on the motherboard (ASUS A7V333). I nice little charred area at the corner of the board.

Strange thing was though, that this didn't effect the the PC. I could still use it. I looked at the warranty sticker and it was dated 0207xxxx. It was 18/07/2005 that it failed and I had a 3 year warranty on it. It may still be covered. Took it down to where I bought it (Yes they are still in business) and saw that I had actually purchased it on 22/07/02, So I was three days within the warranty.

He said given the age, it may be difficult to find another board. He eventually did find one (Gigabyte GA-7VT600) and it would be ready on Friday. So I went down Friday afternoon and he was still having problems getting it to start.

We agreed that the OS, will probably need to be re-installed, and all the latest drivers applied. I said, I can probably do that , so I took it home, deleted the existing OS partition and then put a fresh install in that newly created and formatted c: drive.

I installed
Windows 2000 SP2 from OEM CD
Windows 2000 SP4
Media Player 9
VIA 4-1 drivers from the MBoard CD
Sound Drivers from the MBoard CD
NVidia GF4 Ti4200 drivers from the Leadtek CD

The PC would load the until the GUI starts and then crashed.

I then launched in VGA mode, and installed
Jetstream connection
Firewall (Sygate 5.5) (5.6 has problems)
Anti-Virus (Avast)

Connected to Windows Update and downloaded all the latest patches.

The PC and GUI then started. Great.

Installed my favorite game, Medieval Total War

Started game then the PC froze

DAMN DAMN ! DAMN !! DAMN !!!

Downloaded the latest Motherboard and Nvidia drivers. Still no success.
So installed earlier versions of the Graphics driver. Still no success.
Looked at the Motherboard BIOS Setup and even set an free IRQ for the display card. Still no success.

Then thought, I'll do a "DirectX Diagnostic" (dxdiag). That is where it crashed again while it was checking the files for WHQL compliance.

I then ran it again and it said that it failed in checking Direct3D, so It asked to bypass the Direct3D files. In the tabs all files were compliant, however the Direct3D was "greyed out", so could not be tested.

Re-ran the test this morning and got the same result, and have now returned it to where I bought it from.

I await now to see what further tests they can do to fix. I left the Game CD in the drive so they can test the game.

pctek
25-07-2005, 03:44 PM
I'd try another graphics card in it. The MB problem could have caused other damage.
BTW why did he give you a Gigabyte board? I'd complain - get another ASUS. If he won't Morningstar will probably have a few things to say about that. No they wouldn't be able to find the exact one either probably but they give you ASUS for ASUS, not some other manky brand.

KiwiTT_NZ
25-07-2005, 03:50 PM
I'd try another graphics card in it. The MB problem could have caused other damage. It my have to pay for it if it is a higher spec, however, it is damaged by the fault it should be free for a smimilar card. Do you think I should offer half the price for a 6600 GT upgrade
BTW why did he give you a Gigabyte board? I'd complain - get another ASUS. Is Gigabyte bad ?
If he won't Morningstar will probably have a few things to say about that. No they wouldn't be able to find the exact one either probably but they give you ASUS for ASUS, not some other manky brand. Who is morningstar ?

tweak'e
25-07-2005, 05:22 PM
what part blew on the mobo?

i would suspect a faulty PSU may have caused the damage.

gigabyte is ok depending on who you talk to. ideally if the board is faulty get a replacement of the same brand if possible. however if its an older board you will strugle to find any and replaceing it with a more modern board will often mean changeing other parts such as cpu/ram/psu etc.

KiwiTT_NZ
25-07-2005, 05:42 PM
According to the engineer one of those little "jumpers" on one of the pins ?!?

pctek
25-07-2005, 05:49 PM
It my have to pay for it if it is a higher spec, however, it is damaged by the fault it should be free for a smimilar card. Do you think I should offer half the price for a 6600 GT upgrade Is Gigabyte bad ? Who is morningstar ?
Yes.
Not overly but its not in the same class as ASUS, you had an ASUS, therefore the replacement should be ASUS. Not whatever he felt like offloading on to you.
Morningstar are ASUSs NZ distributors/agents.

KiwiTT_NZ
28-07-2005, 11:22 AM
My wife says if the system in not repaired by Mid August, I could do my upgrade I was planning for mid next year. This will be last upgrade, before I go for a completely new chassis, HDD, DVD, etc.

I am looking at main two options

Top Range

GeForce 6600 GT 256MB PCI Express $393.80
Asustek A8N-E nForce4-Ultra Socket 939 ATX $183.93
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4GHz Socket 939 $570.94
512MB DDR2-667 SDRAM $173.79
512MB DDR2-667 SDRAM $173.79

$1496.25

Options for the Top Range

GeForce 7800 GTX 256MB PCI Express $928.13 ($2030.58)
GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI Express $646.88 ($1749.33)



Basic Range

GeForce 6600 GT 256MB AGP $410.90
Asustek A7N8X NForce2 $148.75
AMD Athlon XP3200+ 2.2GHz $295.88
512MB PC3200 DDR400 SDRAM $68.79
512MB PC3200 DDR400 SDRAM $68.79

$993.11

Options for the Basic Range

GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB $817.85 ($1400.06)
GeForce 6800 GT 256MB $555.00 ($1137.21)


Summary

AthlonXP 3200, GF6600GT $ 993.11 (Minimum)
AthlonXP 3200, GF6800GT $1137.21 (Minimum plus)
AthlonXP 3200, GF6800Ultra $1400.06 (Best Performance per $) <<=== My Choice
Athlon64 3800, GF6600GT $1496.25 (Future Proof)
Athlon64 3800, GF6800GT $1749.33 (Future Proof plus)
Athlon64 3800, GF7800GTX $2030.58 (Best Performance)

I will be able to continue to use my existing 400watt P/S, Case, DVD Drive, CD/RW, 2x80GB HDD

My next upgrade, from this one will be for a completely new system, with new drives, processor, Graphics Card, etc, in 2-3 years time.

KiwiTT_NZ
28-07-2005, 11:53 AM
Also I am concerned if I go too upto date, I will have to upgrade to Windows XP from Windows 2000, which I am happy with. Upgrade to Windows XP is $500+ from Win2K

Metla
28-07-2005, 11:56 AM
Never mind, I must remember to read the thread before posting...

sarel
28-07-2005, 02:16 PM
KiwiTT_NZ

Like a true Kiwi the Real Boss has spoken (the approval for the upgrade) :p

LOL

sarel

pctek
28-07-2005, 02:29 PM
Top Range

GeForce 6600 GT 256MB PCI Express $393.80
Asustek A8N-E nForce4-Ultra Socket 939 ATX $183.93
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ 2.4GHz Socket 939 $570.94
512MB DDR2-667 SDRAM $173.79
512MB DDR2-667 SDRAM $173.79

$1496.25

Options for the Top Range

GeForce 7800 GTX 256MB PCI Express $928.13 ($2030.58)
GeForce 6800 GT 256MB PCI Express $646.88 ($1749.33)


I will be able to continue to use my existing 400watt P/S, Case, DVD Drive, CD/RW, 2x80GB HDD

This one.
Oh, And you can't put DDR2 ram in that board. The board MUST support DDR2, whatever board you choose.

KiwiTT_NZ
28-07-2005, 02:31 PM
Is there an ASUS board that supports it.

SurferJoe46
28-07-2005, 02:39 PM
QUOTE: Also I am concerned if I go too upto date, I will have to upgrade to Windows XP from Windows 2000, which I am happy with. Upgrade to Windows XP is $500+ from Win2K

GADS!..What is the exchange rrate for NZ to US dollars?

A full-install in the US of XP-PRO is $249.00, and this is not in a discount store either! If your money is that low in exchange value, I suggest you tie your monetary system to the coconut standard for a better return/investment. :waughh:

Either that....or Mr. Bill has a case of the jaws for NZ!

Metla
28-07-2005, 02:52 PM
There is more to getting a product down to our tiny market at the bottem of the world then the US exchange rate.

Besides,as part of a package he could source an OEM copy for less then $150....

KiwiTT_NZ
28-07-2005, 03:33 PM
$150 is not too bad.

KiwiTT_NZ
28-07-2005, 04:14 PM
Also, why I am leaning towards the lower CPU one is that I learned you get more bang for you buck out of good video Card then a Good CPU.

KiwiTT_NZ
29-07-2005, 04:36 PM
The technician installed a 6600GT and it worked fine in the Gigabyte board. He installed the Ti-4200 in another machine and it works fine. Therefore there is an incompatibility between the Gigabyte board and the Ti-4200 card.

I can get the 6600GT for around $300+. It is the Leadtek version, which is quite silent and fast in comparison to others. I was hoping to get a 256MB version. But this may well do.

KiwiTT_NZ
01-08-2005, 11:15 AM
I saw the 6600 GT running in my computer. My game played. Just need to check out what warranty is covered. Should get it back this afternoon.

KiwiTT_NZ
03-08-2005, 01:41 PM
I have researched the Leadtek card in some web reviews and it would appear that the card has quite a bit of headroom for overclocking, because of it's cooling. While I do not intend to OC the card, I think this may help in it's overall reliability, by not getting too hot.