PDA

View Full Version : More Linux questions...



Myth
17-07-2005, 03:01 PM
IN the last few days, I have noticed a change in the shutdown of my FC4. As it scrolls down shutting off services; it now has a heap of text underneath auditd .. including the words NO DAEMON.
I have had a look in services, and it shows auditd is running. The thing is I haven't changed anything. Just prior I had completed a large download (700MB). Part way through that download (through Azureus) the download froze, so I had to log off and logon again. Restarted the download and it went perfectly.
Nothing else has been done. The text (theres about 5+ lines of it) doesn't hang the machine or affected shutdown... Im just wondering how to fix it.

There was another question but it seems to have slipped my mind for the time... will post when I remember

vinref
17-07-2005, 03:06 PM
Are you able to post the message? Have a look in /var/log/messages or the FC equivalent.

Myth
17-07-2005, 03:22 PM
Hmmm .. bit more than 5 lines ..

Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp auditd[1831]: The audit daemon is exiting.
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit: *NO* daemon at audit_pid=1831
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.130:16710398): arch=40000003 syscall=102 success=no exit=-22 a0=b a1=bff58e80 a2=80510f8 a3=0 items=0 pid=6698 auid=4294967295 uid=0 gid=0 euid=0 suid=0 fsuid=0 egid=0 sgid=0 fsgid=0 comm="auditctl" exe="/sbin/auditctl"
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.130:16710398): saddr=100000000000000000000000
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.130:16710398): nargs=6 a0=3 a1=bff5afdc a2=10 a3=0 a4=bff5d178 a5=c
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.231:16711040): SELinux: unrecognized netlink message type=1009 for sclass=49
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel:
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.231:16711040): arch=40000003 syscall=102 success=no exit=-22 a0=b a1=bff58e60 a2=80510f8 a3=0 items=0 pid=6698 auid=4294967295 uid=0 gid=0 euid=0 suid=0 fsuid=0 egid=0 sgid=0 fsgid=0 comm="auditctl" exe="/sbin/auditctl"
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.231:16711040): saddr=100000000000000000000000
Jul 17 10:55:01 tazzcomp kernel: audit(1121554501.231:16711040): nargs=6 a0=3 a1=bff5afbc a2=10 a3=0 a4=bff5d158 a5=c

Oh and thx, now I know where shutdown messages are recorded :)

vinref
17-07-2005, 03:54 PM
Hmmm .. bit more than 5 lines ..

Sorry, I am not familiar with linux kernel error messages.

Graham L
17-07-2005, 04:33 PM
It's usually a Bad Idea to cat /var/log/messages. :D

I have alias messages='tail -20 /var/log/messages' in my .bash_profile file. That gives a screenfull, which is usually enough.

I'm not sure what is happening there ... I don't know what auditd is.;)

It looks as if it is terminating, then something (the kernel?) is calling it for some reason.

KABOOM.

It is being called so soon after the termination that its PID (process ID) hasn't been removed from the pid/ directory (is that in /var?)

vinref
17-07-2005, 04:52 PM
It's usually a Bad Idea to cat /var/log/messages. :D

I have alias messages='tail -20 /var/log/messages' in my .bash_profile file. That gives a screenfull, which is usually enough.

/var/log/messages is root-only access in my system, and I have a feeling it is the same in FC. Hence, it cannot be used in alias in a shell rc file of a normal or wheel user.

And why would it be a bad idea to read it with cat?


I'm not sure what is happening there ... I don't know what auditd is.;)

It looks as if it is terminating, then something (the kernel?) is calling it for some reason.

KABOOM.

It is being called so soon after the termination that its PID (process ID) hasn't been removed from the pid/ directory (is that in /var?)

That's why I tend to stay away from "too new" distros and releases. Also note the reference to SELinux... not good.

Graham L
17-07-2005, 05:03 PM
All the logs are private to root. That's because they are system things. But it's usually as root that you need to look at them. ;)

It's a Very Bad Idea to use an editor (or even cat or less) to look at /var/log/messages because it's usually a Very Big File. ;) It gets chopped by one of the /etc/cron.daily or /etc/cron.weekly tasks, but on average it's very big.

The problem in making up error messages (and handling) is that often the events happen so rarely that the developers can never test the handling of them. (That's in Linux ... in Other OSs, the developers get lots of practice ;)).

vinref
17-07-2005, 05:17 PM
Hey Tazz

You will need to look through that messages to see the first instance of this error message. Then look before that to see if the system reported something changed. If the Azureus froze, there is a good chance a message was left about it.

Post it here (as much of the relevant message as you can) and me and Graham L will have a go.

Graham L
17-07-2005, 05:29 PM
grep audit /var/log/messages will help. (I think grep has options which will let you see a few lines each side of matched lines, too. man grep ;)).

Myth
17-07-2005, 06:33 PM
OK, had a look at /var/log/messages which covered just today, as well as /var/log/messages1 which covered the previous 7 days (which included the time I was downloading with azureus). No mention of azureus at all.I also did the grep audit /var/log/messages thing which gave me the same info as what I have already posted.
grep audit /var/log/messages 1 gave a similar yet smaller(just) result

Jen
17-07-2005, 07:05 PM
Have a look at this (http://fedora.redhat.com/docs/release-notes/fc4/#sn-audit-daemon) for information about the Audit Daemon auditd and Log Files. You can turn the service off for all runlevels if you like using chkconfig.

Not sure why you have it under services, I don't on my FC4. There is a discussion on that daemon here (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?p=305487) as well.

Myth
17-07-2005, 07:27 PM
OK, auditd went the same place as KDE :p
No problems so far, did 2 reboots just to make sure.
Thanks for the links Jen :)

I installed gl117 (flight sim game in Linux) the other day, just to check it out.
I used Yumex, which also installed the libs it needed.
However, even after a couple of reboots, I cannot start it
I go to the games menu, click on it, and nothing.
And I mean nothing, the cursor doesn't even change to the hourglass.

Any ideas?

Jen
17-07-2005, 07:49 PM
However, even after a couple of reboots, I cannot start it
I go to the games menu, click on it, and nothing.
And I mean nothing, the cursor doesn't even change to the hourglass.A good thing to try when applications don't launch or drop dead soon after launching is to start the program from command line. You will be able to see the output and most likely a useful error message which can help track down what the problem is.

You will need to know what command starts the application. Try the game name of gl117 first, and if that gives command not found, then under the Gnome menu if you right-click on the game name > properties you should be able to find the command (going from memory here). Failing all that, you might need to use the full file path to the application to launch it.

Myth
17-07-2005, 09:35 PM
Ok, went looking for this lil sucker... did the find a file search, found it.
Tried executing it... nothing
Thought fine, I will check the package.
Uninstalled it using Yumex, reinstalled using Synaptic (thinking Synaptic is the best, surely it will install it and it will go :))
Rebooted, didn't show in Games menu.
Looked for excutable, trie executing it ... nothing
Thought fine
Uninstalled it using Synaptic.
Found RPM and tried that
Rebooted, didn't show in Games menu.
Looked for excutable, tried executing it ... nothing
Thought #@&* it
Look for another game

Anyone know of a Flight Sim game for Linux? Pref that works

Jen
17-07-2005, 09:39 PM
What happened when you launched it via the console?

Myth
17-07-2005, 09:45 PM
Just to double check... whats the command to execute a file from console...
./home/blah
?

The only thing I can find even slightly resembling an exe is in /usr/bin
When I execute using the ./usr/bin/gl-117 command it gives the no such file or directory error
Even though the file is there, and has the exe permissions

Jen
17-07-2005, 09:53 PM
If it has been installed in your $PATH, then all you need to do is type the name. Eg, for yumex I just need to enter yumex at the bash prompt.

Where have you installed the game? To see what your $PATH is just at a console window as user, enter in echo $PATH

Myth
17-07-2005, 09:57 PM
Gotcha (learn somethin new everyday
Tried the yumex example, worked, so did same to gl-117
Got this:
Info: Found gl-117 data directory /usr/share/gl-117
Info: Startup gl-117, V1.3 ...
Info: Loading /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf
Info: Saving /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf
Info: Loading /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf.interface
Info: Saving /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf.interface
Warning: Could not load saves/pilots
Warning: Could not load pilot
Info: Using SDL and GLUT
Usage:program_name [address][:port]Info: Using SDL_mixer
Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)
Usage:program_name [address][:port]

and to think I been doing it the long and sometimes wrong way :blush:

Jen
17-07-2005, 10:12 PM
Fatal signal: Segmentation Fault (SDL Parachute Deployed)

That line shows your problem and the warnings above it. Hit google or the game forum and see what further information you can find on that error. Where did you get the program from? I can't find it listed in any of my yumex repositories.

BTW, if you are entering in a file path to launch an application, you just start at / and work your way down. You do not need the fullstop at the start. It can be used when you are already in the directory where the executable lives eg ./configure to start the configuration script in that folder.

A fullstop also indicates a hidden file eg /home/jennifer/.gaim/ indicates the folder gaim is hidden. This can also be written using the abreviated form for your home eg ~/.gaim/ where the ~/ is used to represent my home directory.

Myth
17-07-2005, 10:16 PM
A fullstop also indicates a hidden file eg /home/jennifer/.gaim/ indicates the folder gaim is hidden. This can also be written using the abreviated form for your home eg ~/.gaim where the ~/ is used to represent my home directory.I knew about the hidden file fullstop. Thanks for explainig the other usage of fullstop, I kinda got that one wrong.
Does find a file not look at hidden files?

Jen
17-07-2005, 10:28 PM
I don't use find. Try using locate as it ah, locates everything :D. It is better to send your search results to less, otherwise things can just whiz past.

Example:
locate java | less

If you then either use the down arrow or keep pushing Enter, the page will scroll down in a more controllable manner - just hit the q key to exit.

Myth
17-07-2005, 10:50 PM
Had a look around for the error I was getting, so far no real answers, or none that work anyway.
Seems to revolve around libsSDL-mixer... any idea what they do?
Have uninstalled GL-117 anyway...
Maybe in FC5 :D
Time for CSI :cool:

vinref
17-07-2005, 11:15 PM
I don't use find. Try using locate as it ah, locates everything :D. It is better to send your search results to less, otherwise things can just whiz past.

Example:
locate java | less

If you then either use the down arrow or keep pushing Enter, the page will scroll down in a more controllable manner - just hit the q key to exit.

Locate is the fastest way to find filenames, but it looks in a database that may not be updated daily. In my experience, it will not find files that you installed recently.

You can update the database manually (/usr/libexec/locate.updatedb ?), or change the frequency of updates (somewhere in /etc/periodic).

vinref
17-07-2005, 11:16 PM
.. wrong thread

Jen
17-07-2005, 11:46 PM
Seems to revolve around libsSDL-mixer... any idea what they do?SDL_mixer Documentation (http://jcatki.no-ip.org/SDL_mixer/). libs indicates library files.

As vinref mentions, a newly installed file might not be located by "locate". You can as root just run the command updatedb to manually update the database. It takes a minute or two sometimes to complete.

Myth
18-07-2005, 12:58 AM
Had another play round....
Went to homepage of SDL, and downloaded and installed there RPM...
Now I get this:

Info: Found gl-117 data directory /usr/share/gl-117
Info: Startup gl-117, V1.3 ...
Info: Loading /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf
Info: Saving /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf
Info: Loading /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf.interface
Info: Saving /home/tazzy/.gl-117/conf.interface
Warning: Could not load saves/pilots
Warning: Could not load pilot
Info: Using SDL and GLUT
Info: Using SDL_mixer
Fatal: Cannot open winner.s3m: Unrecognized music format

Ok looking better, can anyone give me ideas about this error... (I will look properly tomorrow but ideas would be helpful)
BTW I have Kaffeine (Xine) installed, as well as Xmms....
Would a codec for either of those help.... any idea where to get one?
Incidentally s3m I believe is a music sampler file?