PDA

View Full Version : no ipconfig or ping...



NZHawk
28-06-2005, 06:23 PM
I have a Windows XP Pro machine.
When I go to Run, type in cmd
type ipconfig or ping I get the following error:
"'ipconfig' is not recongnized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file."
Although I can run ipconfig from C:\Windows...
I have attached the hard drive as a slave and run both Norton AV & AVG, both came up clean.
I ran Windows Anti-Spyware & Spysweeper and they both came up clean.
I ran HJT, but didn't find anything much.
The following is the log.
I would appreciate any input into how to correct this problem.

Cheers
Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:08:06 p.m., on 28/06/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Intel\NCS\PROSet\PRONoMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\InterVideo\FastTVSync\FastTVSync.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\hpcoretech\hpcmpmgr.exe
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\Program Files\Firebird\Firebird_1_5\bin\fbguard.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL$MICROSOFTBCM\Binn\sqlservr.exe
C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\Bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Program Files\Firebird\Firebird_1_5\bin\fbserver.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Dene Perry\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.google.co.nz/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PRONoMgr.exe] C:\Program Files\Intel\NCS\PROSet\PRONoMgr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ATIPTA] C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel\atiptaxx.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe /Consumer
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FastTVSync] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\InterVideo\FastTVSync\FastTVSync.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] "C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Component Manager] "C:\Program Files\HP\hpcoretech\hpcmpmgr.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DXDllRegExe] dxdllreg.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: HP Digital Imaging Monitor.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Install Cubit Server.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: InterVideo WinCinema Manager.lnk = C:\Program Files\InterVideo\Common\Bin\WinCinemaMgr.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1110150294578
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Firebird Guardian - DefaultInstance (FirebirdGuardianDefaultInstance) - The Firebird Project - C:\Program Files\Firebird\Firebird_1_5\bin\fbguard.exe
O23 - Service: Firebird Server - DefaultInstance (FirebirdServerDefaultInstance) - The Firebird Project - C:\Program Files\Firebird\Firebird_1_5\bin\fbserver.exe
O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto Protect Service (navapsvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Intel NCS NetService (NetSvc) - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\NCS\Sync\NetSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPZipm12.exe
O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service (SBService) - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: SymWMI Service (SymWSC) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe

Jen
28-06-2005, 06:47 PM
You have have your log examined automatically here (http://www.hijackthis.de/index.php), and then make manual decisions on anything it flags as questionable.

You can even save the analysed log and view the results (http://www.hijackthis.de/logfiles/51fb8ccc4ead60bb2965aca6ab6e91ba.html) later. From that check, it looks like your log is clean.

NZHawk
28-06-2005, 07:21 PM
Thanks Jen, I will use that site in the future.
Any ideas on why I am not getting ipconfig or ping?


Cheers

godfather
28-06-2005, 08:23 PM
What do you get what you type "path"?

Simply sounds like the path to the appropriate directory has been lost. That's a standard response if the program cannot be located or the name is wrong.

bartsdadhomer
28-06-2005, 08:48 PM
Removal of spyware etc can damage the Winsock settings in XP which is most likely your problem
Download this file to repair and see if it makes any difference
http://www.snapfiles.com/download/dlwinsockxpfix.html

NZHawk
01-07-2005, 12:32 PM
bartsdadhomer, thank you but no go - ran the winsox repair, still no access to ipconfig or ping

Anyother suggestions?

bartsdadhomer
01-07-2005, 01:18 PM
Try this
Run cmd.exe
and type

netsh winsock reset

then hit enter
Reboot the machine

NZHawk
01-07-2005, 02:00 PM
bartsdadhomer, thanks again, no luck, still same error message.

Any more suggestions?!

Thank you.

bartsdadhomer
01-07-2005, 02:29 PM
Under System properties > Advanced > Environment Variables
What is the value for ComSpec & the values for Path
And a godfather has already asked, what happens when you type path into cmd.exe

Any reason why the drive is set as slave?

NZHawk
01-07-2005, 03:56 PM
I have attached the hard drive as a slave on another computer just to run Norton AV & AVG..I have since returned it to it's original computer box & am running it as a master

Path: =%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%\system32\Wbem; C:\Progra~1\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared

Enviroment Variables:
ComSpec C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe
Path %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\Sy stem32\Wbem;C:\Progra~1\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared

bartsdadhomer
01-07-2005, 04:51 PM
Read through this and see if your problem is similar (sounds like it)
There is a link to a fix "Fixpath" at top left of page

NZHawk
03-07-2005, 11:03 AM
bartsdadhomer, you state to "Read through this and see if your problem is similar (sounds like it) There is a link to a fix "Fixpath" at top left of page"
Is there suppose to be a link, that you want me to go to?

Cheers

Growly
03-07-2005, 11:22 AM
I'm sorry if I missed it, but did you check the PATH variable like godfather suggested?

You can either go to Start - Run - cmd and type path, or you could go to System Properties - click the Advanced tab - click on Environment Variables at the bottom. Two lists will come up, on the bottom one, near the top, you should see "Path" on the left hand side with some values on the right. Make sure C:\Windows\System32 is in there.

NZHawk
03-07-2005, 11:25 AM
Growly, here is what I found:

Path: =%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%\system32\Wbem; C:\Progra~1\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared

Enviroment Variables:
ComSpec C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe
Path %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\Sy stem32\Wbem;C:\Progra~1\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared

Growly
03-07-2005, 11:37 AM
Well there are several differences to mine, mainly that mine doesn't actually show %systemroot%, it shows the value (i.e. c:\windows). Secondly, you don't have c:\Windows in yours, but I do recal me adding that specifically.

You said you could run ipconfig.exe from C:\Windows? Maybe your executable has moved - at any rate, add that path to the list (through System Properties). Also try entering C:\Windows instead of %SystemRoot% (I still think it's odd that it hasn't been resolved to C:\Windows on your PC).

Path should therefore equal:

C:\Windows;C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows\system32 \Wbem; C:\Progra~1\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared

Ofcourse, by changing so many things at once, we won't know exactly which alteration caused which outcome :s

/edit: Just to clarify, add C:\Windows, and edit the existing %SystemRoot% entries, but don't change the rest

NZHawk
03-07-2005, 11:54 AM
Ok, SUCCESS!
I copied & pasted the PATH in your message to the PATH on my computer and I am able to ipconfig & ping successfully.

Thank you for your assistance.
I will now apply this to the desktop as well.

As a footnote: this occured on both a laptop & a desktop pretty much at the same time. Could this change in PATH be caused by a program install?

Growly
03-07-2005, 01:20 PM
Perhaps... lousy programmers. I'm not sure of the programming they used to modify the line, but %systemroot% is supposed to be translated into the the location of the Windows install whenever it used. (try going to cmd and typing echo %systemroot%).

I don't know if it is meant to be resolved when entered into the path variable, I'd presume so though. Perhaps the program that altered it edited the line, and didn't resolve the actual variable data when it did so - or perhaps you cannot reference one environment variable from another. Perhaps also, some clever programmer was trying to be toooo clever. Maybe Windows had a fit?