PDA

View Full Version : defrag in ME



iancorpe
28-06-2005, 10:42 AM
I can not run defrag in ME (Windows or Nortons versions) on a 10gig hd with 1.8 free but it will run on my 80gig.Scan disk will not work as well on same disk :badpc:

FoxyMX
28-06-2005, 10:48 AM
Have you tried safe mode?

Jen
28-06-2005, 07:03 PM
I'm guessing that your 80 gig drive is a slave drive for data storage? Disk Defragger would probably run fine on that because there normally isn't system files located on that drive that keep being written to, and therefore stopping Disk Defrag due to the disk contents changing.

As FoxyMX suggests, running Disk Defrag in Safe Mode stops those background processes running and interrupting the program. There is a FAQ on this as well - Why does scandisk/defrag stop after only 10%? (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/faq.php?faq=pressf1_faq_windows#faq_pressf1_faq_34 ). Also mentioned in that FAQ is that Windows needs 15% free space on that drive which you are just under, so clearing out temp files and other unnecessary files might help.