PDA

View Full Version : Telecom Network Status



qyiet
20-06-2005, 04:28 PM
As you are (probably) aware telecom's network DSL went down (http://computerworld.co.nz/news.nsf/UNID/F45502DE448D9635CC2570260002CF04?OpenDocument) today, and I am sick of having to go to a 3rd party (my isp) to find out what is happening on the network of the people I pay for my internet.

Does anyone know if telecom has as DSL status page?

drcspy
20-06-2005, 04:40 PM
Does anyone know if telecom has as DSL status page?........hahahahah.........(cynical laughter)........ah.......well.....their phone service also claimed 'there are no known faults on the service'.....lmfao......

qyiet
20-06-2005, 04:58 PM
phone service also claimed 'there are no known faults on the service'Yeah.. well, that statement has never been correct as far as I am aware :-]

Trev
20-06-2005, 05:26 PM
My ADSL connection through Actrix wasn't down at all today. I live in Napier. For thoughs who don't know Actrix is based in Wellington.

Trevor :)

taxboy4
20-06-2005, 07:22 PM
My ADSL connection through Actrix wasn't down at all today. I live in Napier. For thoughs who don't know Actrix is based in Wellington.

Trevor :)

I got of sick when i was with paradise and had jetstream trouble they would tell me to go to telecom and telecom would tell me to go to..well, u can guess

so i thought %$#^ it and swapped my isp to xtra...all has been well since then ...and my speed has suspicously increased...

..sell your soul to the great satan (xtra) i say...

Big John
20-06-2005, 08:43 PM
As you are (probably) aware telecom's network DSL went down (http://computerworld.co.nz/news.nsf/UNID/F45502DE448D9635CC2570260002CF04?OpenDocument) today, and I am sick of having to go to a 3rd party (my isp) to find out what is happening on the network of the people I pay for my internet.

Does anyone know if telecom has as DSL status page?

Mine was up all day. I use the Telecom DSL but log on through Paradise.

Growly
20-06-2005, 09:35 PM
For thoughs who don't know Actrix is based in Wellington. That doesn't make any difference - your DSL modem dials the nearest DSL capable exchange, to maximise line quality. There, it is multiplexed into a trunk line where it sent to the internet via the global gateway, in Auckland.

pctek
20-06-2005, 09:42 PM
Mine was up all day. I use the Telecom DSL but log on through Paradise.
And so do I - but mine went down about 10:30am and was back up about 5pm.

supergran
20-06-2005, 10:21 PM
And if you had of gone to the xtra home page, it told you what services were down, and it included broadband and dial up, some home lines, mobiles, and the areas affected were, 03 area code
04 area code
06 area code
07 area code
09 area code
Well that was according to the xtra.co.nz site anyway. :mad:

qyiet
21-06-2005, 12:03 AM
And if you had of gone to the xtra home page, it told you what services were down, and it included broadband and dial up, some home lines, mobiles, and the areas affected were, 03 area code
04 area code
06 area code
07 area code
09 area code
Well that was according to the xtra.co.nz site anyway. :mad:Thanks, I found that (http://www.xtra.co.nz/help), maxnet (http://www.maxnet.co.nz/content/4/43/0.htm), and inspire.net's (http://www.inspire.net.nz/40.html) status pages.

Xtra was reporting "no known problems on their network" for at least an hour after the problem started. Maxnet and inspire.net did their best, but you could tell it was mostly guesswork on their part.

Xtra was also reporting the problem you as described for about 2 hours after it was fixed as well.

The problem with all of those is they are person 2 talking about person 1's thing. They all get the information 2nd hand, and take a while to pass it onto person 3 (the end users)

Chilling_Silence
21-06-2005, 05:35 PM
Word is a contractor managed to put a spade through a line they shouldnt have.

I was outa work for 5 hours :)

Thats the word I heard through the grapevine ;)