PDA

View Full Version : Dual monitors and video capture



eddymcfeddie
20-06-2005, 05:07 PM
Hi,

A problem I have been trying to sort out for the past 24 hours with no luck.

I have vivo leadtek 5900 card and two identical monitors I can get video capture to display on one monitor but not across both of them. I have fiddled with different settings and still have the same problem.

It is the same for DVDs I can get DVDs to display across both of them in media player, but I cant display across both in PowerDVD - I want the better image quality.

I have

latest detonator drivers
dx9 not sure if its the latest version got it off the maxpayne 2 cd
software installed from video card package - cant seem to find updated versions on net

Would appreiciate if someone could help/reccomend software or something..

Cheers,
Ed

Speedy Gonzales
20-06-2005, 05:21 PM
I take it you're using the Nvidia drivers??

The latest version is 71.89 from http://www.nvidia.com

If u are, click on the desktop/properties/settings/advanced/name of card/
full screen video. Select secondary device. This will let u view the same thing on both or whatever on the secondary monitor and something else on the main monitor.

Type dxdiag in start/run. The latest version of directx is 9.0c. If u haven't got the latest version, they'll be on the Microsoft site.

eddymcfeddie
21-06-2005, 01:30 PM
all drivers updated now

i have adjusted settings in nview and all i have been able to achieve is

dvd displays full picture in both monitors
dvd displays full picture in one monitor and half picture in the other

But what i was after was half screen on each side (wide screen). :dogeye:

As for dualmon it appears to make no difference whatsoever. :stare:

Any other thoughts?



Cheer,
Ed

Speedy Gonzales
21-06-2005, 01:34 PM
The only way you'll get widescreen is if the program for playing DVD has the 16:9 option in its options.

Does powerdvd have 16:9 in its options?

eddymcfeddie
21-06-2005, 02:12 PM
i formated and started from scratch.

now have all new drivers

but using windvd it does have 16:9 ratio makes no difference though

Which monitor setting should I choose?

clone
horizontal span
or dual display

then theres video overlay and full screen options any ideas on them?

and then there is ultramon which dosent seem to make it easier....

I got the day to try n figure it out
also hoping to watch some kool movies on it, lotr and collateral

hope to solve it soon thanks for helping

Speedy Gonzales
21-06-2005, 02:33 PM
Choosing clone, or dual display I dont think this will give u widescreen.

These options are only for the display on either monitor.

Fullscreen/sec display will show whatever is on the pc monitor, on the TV. (But u can do whatever on the PC, and show a different display (from whats on the TV).

Dual display will most probably show the same screen on both the monitor and TV.

I dont think video overlay does anything useful.

Are the movies widescreen??

Nah ultramon does basically the same as the Nvidia drivers but Ultramon isnt free.