PDA

View Full Version : add existing harddrive



Max
22-05-2005, 09:50 PM
I have a hp6327 running 98se with a 6g hd and a 40g maxtor hd.I have had to use my recovery disk to reformat the 6g one and now it doesnt recognize the 40g one.How do I get it to do so without losing all the data on the large disk.

4bes
22-05-2005, 10:27 PM
Welcome to Press F1.

Have you checked the BIOS to see if it is still detected?

Max
22-05-2005, 10:31 PM
Hi,Idont know how to do that sort of stuff.

4bes
23-05-2005, 06:51 AM
Have a read through here (http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?dlc=en&lc=en&product=60502&lang=en&cc=nz&docname=bph07110#N10027) . It is the hp support information for entering and configuring their computers.
You will need to go into the "Main" menu and your second hard drive should be listed under "Primary slave"
Let us know if it is listed there

Max
23-05-2005, 08:27 AM
Thanks,I'll have a go tonight and let you know how I get on

Max
23-05-2005, 10:26 PM
Yes,its in the bios and listed as primary slave,what do I do next.Regards,Max.

4bes
24-05-2005, 06:44 AM
Download and run this (http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Maxtor/menuitem.3c67e325e0a6b1f6294198b091346068/?channelpath=/en_us/Support/Software%20Downloads/ATA%20Hard%20Drives&downloadID=22) utility from the maxtor site

Max
24-05-2005, 08:08 AM
Ok,did that and put it in ,it asked which drive etc and then just goes to the a prompt.Cheers,Max.

Max
24-05-2005, 10:37 AM
sorry blonde moment.did the tests and it says everything ok but next option sems to be formatting and that will lose all my data.bios recognises my drive and so does the maxtor diskette but not windows.where next.Chers,Max.

4bes
24-05-2005, 08:05 PM
Have a look with FDisk and make sure you still have a partition on your maxtor drive.
Click Start, Run. Type "fdisk" (without the quotes) and press enter.
you will get a DOS window pop up. It will ask if you want to enable large disk support. select Yes
In the options menu, it will show the fixed disk #1. You need to change this to fixed disk #2 by using the menu options listed. ( I think it is #5)
When you have changed to disk #2, Use option #4 to display the partition info.

Let us know what the info says

press esc several times to exit.

Max
24-05-2005, 09:27 PM
partition 1 ,status a ,type non dos, mbytes 39080, usage 100%.

total disk space is 39077 bytes.

Cheers,Max.

4bes
24-05-2005, 09:31 PM
Ok, there's your problem. Windows 98 wont pick it up because it is non dos.
Did you have this working under Win 98 before?

Max
24-05-2005, 09:36 PM
yes it was working fine

4bes
25-05-2005, 07:02 AM
Try usig a data recovery program such as this (http://www.pcinspector.de/file_recovery/uk/welcome.htm) to recover what you can off the drive then repair the MBR.
There are programs available that will repair corruoted partitions, but they are expensive. http://www.ptdd.com/
http://how.to/use_Partition_Doctor
Another interesting link is http://www.fdisk.com/fdisk/

I'm at the point where I would recover what I could then re partition the drive and start again. Hopefully some of the guru's here will pick up this thread and get it fixed for you

Max
25-05-2005, 11:09 AM
Many thanks for your help,I will see how I go with those programs.There is quite a bit of data I wouldnt mind recovering however the important thing on it is about three gig of my granddaughters music otherwise I will never hear the end of it,Cheers,Max.

4bes
25-05-2005, 06:58 PM
I've found a freeware program that may be of some help. Testdisk (http://www.cgsecurity.org/index.html?testdisk.html).
More info can be found on testdisk here (http://www.thefreecountry.com/utilities/partitioneditors.shtml)

There are no guarantees it will work, also make sure you try to recover what you can first.