PDA

View Full Version : TV won't boot



mark c
15-05-2005, 08:07 PM
Only had this 2nd hand TV a couple of months at first it was alright but then a few times turning it on at the wall wouldn't work but after a few attempts over ten minutes or so it would start and the standby light would come and I could use the remote to turn it on. In that time also maybe twice when I used the remote to turn it on/choose a channel it would go off again and the stanby light go out. Now it doesn't do anything. Stuffed power supply? Today has been cool and damp but had these symptoms even when it was warm/hot and dry.
Frustrated, wanted to watch Off the Rails. Any ideas?

I suppose you just biff it and get another. Irritating when it doesn't even get going enough to have a fiddle with..............m :angry :(

mark c
15-05-2005, 09:12 PM
Gawd after a bit of a look around it's frightening :horrified Masses of sites for consumer electronics where things "don't go" and the commonest "resolution" is that it's a tiny inexpensive part that will cost a bomb and a half to get replaced.

Cuss & Oath. :groan:

Lots people said "don't go for a 2nd hand one". Blasted cheapskate genes got me in doos again. :mad:

Thanks for all views.

mark c
15-05-2005, 09:13 PM
Gawd after a bit of a look around it's frightening :horrified Masses of sites for consumer electronics where things "don't go" and the commonest "resolution" is that it's a tiny inexpensive part that will cost a bomb and a half to get replaced.

Cuss & Oath. :groan:

Lots people said "don't go for a 2nd hand one". Blasted cheapskate genes got me in doos again. :mad:

Thanks for all views. Grumble grumble. No0ne else has trouble wiv the tele?

Jen
15-05-2005, 09:52 PM
I can't help, but it does amuse me that you describe your problem as the TV won't boot ... think someone has been around computers too long :p

I had a problem with my new cellphone shutting off just after turning it on, and I went into the shop and told the guy my phone wouldn't boot - got such an odd look from him :blush:

pctek
15-05-2005, 10:10 PM
Apply boot to front of TV.
Then go down to DSE and buy a nice new SOny, quite cheap too.

godfather
15-05-2005, 10:11 PM
Yes it could be the power supply

But just as easily any of the other 876 components, which can cause the power supply protection to operate as a safety mechanism.

It's specialised technology, not a lot you can DIY.

Often the repair costs are higher than replacement.

BoboTheClown
16-05-2005, 08:58 AM
Oh no, my age is showing, I talk of "IPL" rather than "boot"... :lol:

Cost me around $60 to get my 68cm TV fixed after it "smoked", 2 capacitors costing a few cents were shot. You can buy a new TV 14 inch TV for around double that lately, so to choice to fix or buy new will all depend on the screen size you want.

mark c
16-05-2005, 11:14 AM
THanks for all that. As I feared. Oh well it's only $$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

Yes, I did see on the research I did that anything could trip the power supply safety and the tech in the shop can spend hours tracing it back till you're better off buying a new one.

Got a few things done last evening I wouldn't otherwise. I'll have a TV free week til
l I go to town again. Cheers........m

(HeHe, can imagine someone going into a garage and saying their car won't boot!)

Graham L
16-05-2005, 03:07 PM
"HeHe, can imagine someone going into a garage and saying their car won't boot"

Quite normal these days.;) There is now a Windows CE version called "Windows Automotive". Some cars have about 100 microcontrollers now.

mark c
16-05-2005, 04:09 PM
Ha Ha yes true Gramam L, forgot about that. Got a friend runs a (rural) garage got a nice little side earner trailering flash vehicles down to the nearest big smoke so they can get plugged in. :yuck: