PDA

View Full Version : memory



matthew
15-05-2005, 04:12 AM
I am building a new system and want to get the best memory to compliment it. So far I have an Intel D865 PERL mb and am awaiting delivery of an Intel P-4 3.O ghz CPU with 1gb on board cache and 800 mhz FSB. What would be the best choice for SDRAM? Thanks, Matthew

Mike
15-05-2005, 08:07 AM
I've heard that Kingston is a good brand for RAM...

I've also heard that you should go for RAM with a 5 year warranty rather than a lifetime warranty (as it appears a lifetime warranty doesn't actually last that long).

Mike.

Greg
15-05-2005, 09:50 AM
What would be the best choice for SDRAM? Get DDR ram if your motherboard supports it.

matthew
15-05-2005, 10:56 AM
Yes. I've used Kingston with good luck in the past. I wanted to end up with 1gb, but how do I pick the type? I heard there's a new RAMBU memory. Is that good? I also heard you should get 2 memory boards instead of 1 to get the 800 fsb speed. And what speed ? Whats the fastest I can use, and is faster realy better, or nesacary? One more question, I have seen some CPU's called Prescot, some Northbridge. Which is better, or is there any difference? I realy am a novice with this stuff, Thanks, Matthew

Jen
15-05-2005, 10:56 AM
Your motherboard supports SDRAM DDR 400, DDR 333, and DDR 266 RAM. With your 800 MHz FSB CPU the DDR400 (PC3200) type RAM would give the best performance. It doesn't appear that your motherboard supports dual channel RAM so it doesn't matter if you get one or two sticks of RAM (they don't need to go in pairs).

Jen
15-05-2005, 11:04 AM
I heard there's a new RAMBU memory. Is that good?RAMBUS memory was used in some boards, but it hasn't really taken off and has been superseded with dual-channel RAM. Your board doesn't take this sort of memory anyway.


Some further education links: :)

Simple explanation of FSB and memory speeds (http://arstechnica.com/guides/askars/ask-ars-20040710.ars)

Understanding System Memory and CPU speeds (http://www.directron.com/fsbguide.html) - in much more technical detail.

RAMBUS being legacy technology (http://www.kingston.com/newtech/rambus.asp)

Bascially, a Intel P4 800 MHz FSB CPU has a clock speed of 200 MHz. This clock speed is quad pumped to give you the 800 MHz FSB. RAM speed will be twice (DDR = double data rate) the clock speed which equals 400 MHz. PC3200 (DDR 400 MHz) will make the most of your system speed.

Dual channel RAM can double this speed again from running in pairs, but your motherboard doesn't support dual-channel RAM.

Hope this makes sense, and I hope I have explained this correctly. Someone will correct me if I am wrong I hope. :)

Jen
15-05-2005, 11:42 AM
I lied. :blush: Must read specs more carefully.

Your motherboard (http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/rl/) does support dual-channel RAM. Intel® 865PE chipset details (http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/865pe/index.htm).

If you want 1 Gig of RAM, then get two identical sticks of 512 MB DDR400 RAM. Read the motherboard manual to make sure you put them into the matching RAM channels to get the dual-channel functionality.

matthew
15-05-2005, 01:51 PM
Thank-you. Thats pretty much what I was thinking. But I wasn't sure. Hearing it from an expert , who isn't selling something , is worth a lot. Again, thanks.

JJJJJ
15-05-2005, 02:21 PM
If it's an IBM board you may need registered memory.