PDA

View Full Version : PC running slower than clock speed help!



infinix
25-04-2005, 05:37 PM
My computer has a P4 3.2GHz processor.
However, something has caused it to run at 2.8GHz instead.
This is seen when looking at the My Computer properties where it lists the processor. It says:
"Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz 2.80GHz"
I am very confident that those 2 numbers should be identical, as I have seen in the past.

Does anyone know how I can fix this and get my 3.2 running at 3.2 like it is supposed to?

Aurealis_
25-04-2005, 05:41 PM
Your CPU may be the victim of throttling due to over-heating. Download Throttle Watch here (http://www.techspot.com/download400.html) and it will show you whether you are being throttled.

If not... Then we troubleshoot.

infinix
25-04-2005, 05:48 PM
Have downloaded the program and as I suspected there is no throttling.
So whats the next step?

Aurealis_
25-04-2005, 05:55 PM
Download CPU-Z (http://www.cpuid.org/download/cpu-z-128.zip) and then either take a screenshot of the CPU and Mainboard tabs (then post in this thread) or copy the information into a new post.

This program identifies exactly how fast your CPU is running and what its Multiplier and FSB is.

infinix
25-04-2005, 06:01 PM
CPU #1
APIC ID 0
Name Intel Pentium 4
Code name Prescott
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.20GHz
Family/Model/Stepping F33
Extended Family/Model 0/0
Package mPGA-478
Core Stepping C0
Technology 0.09
Instructions Sets MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
Clock Speed 2798.7 MHz
Clock multiplier x14.0
Front Side Bus Frequency 199.9 MHz
Bus Speed 799.6 MHz
Stock frequency 3200 MHz

E|im
25-04-2005, 06:23 PM
Multiplier for that CPU should be 16, not 14 so that's why it's at 2800Mhz (200mhz x 14multi).

I think that CPU is too old for EIST (which lowers CPU multiplier when idle) so that can't be causing it.

Can you go into the BIOS and maybe adjust the multiplier to 16? Maybe your motherboard doesn't support 16x multiplier and needs a BIOS update?

Aurealis_
25-04-2005, 06:27 PM
What motherboard are using and what BIOS version? If you are unsure that info is available on CPU-Z's motherboard tab.

infinix
26-04-2005, 09:30 AM
It's a Asus P4P800SE
BIOS Version 080009

The motherboard is listed to be compatible with my CPU which makes it even weirder.
I also had a look through my BIOS at the CPU information and noted the multiplier is locked.
I have an AI Booster utility for my motherboard that can be used to overclock.
The only way I can get my CPU up to speed is to increase my FSB from 200 to 228. But I'd prefer not to have to do that.

Speedy Gonzales
26-04-2005, 09:37 AM
Is the BIOS version on bootup 1008??

As this is the latest according to the ASUS site.

What happens if u select the default settings. Then set the settings back to what they are now. Have u tried that?

Hmm by the looks of it, some 3.2 CPU do boot up at 2.8

http://support.intel.com/support/processors/sb/CS-008619.htm

So it doesnt damage the mobo/CPU as stated on the Intel site.

Some processors 3.20 GHz and above based on 90nm technology may only boot to 2.80 GHz. When this invalid configuration is detected, the processor will run at this slower frequency to reduce the chance of damage to the processor and/or motherboard.

E|im
26-04-2005, 01:38 PM
http://www.asus.com.tw/support/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx

If you enter in your motherboard there, it says the 3.2E processor is supported after BIOS 1006.

Interesting about what Intel say. Maybe the board doesn't have a good enough power converter or capacitors to power a prescott properly. Though it says Prescott is supported on the Asus site... maybe you have an older revision of the board?

pauldo1
13-11-2005, 10:40 AM
Asus has posted an updated Bios #1009
P4P800 SE BIOS version 1009
Support new CPUs. Please refer to our website at: http://support.asus.com.tw/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx
This should fix your problem.