PDA

View Full Version : Two modems on one computer



Mike S
25-04-2005, 05:00 PM
Is it feasible to have two modems in one beige box, both connected to the telephone line?

The idea is to have one Fax/Voice modem to be used for fax and phone answering (but older and lower data bps). The second one is faster data rate and to be used for Internet connection only.

Would it then be possible to ‘train’ Firefox and OE to utilise only the data modem and Winfax to only use the slower one? How would one do that?

Aurealis_
25-04-2005, 05:07 PM
What OS are you using Mike?

From a theoretical perspective, it should be possible to put 2 modems into the one system.

tweak'e
25-04-2005, 05:13 PM
no problem. just make dailup conections for each modem and assign the program which dailup to use. as far as winfax goes....i have no idea.

mzee
26-04-2005, 01:16 AM
Just install both Modems on separate Com Ports ie: 3 & 4 and specify the Com Port in the Fax setup. You can't use both modems at the same time because they are on the same line.
I don't know why you would want two Modems?

Renmoo
26-04-2005, 01:34 AM
I don't know why you would want two Modems?
The more, the merrier:D

tweak'e
26-04-2005, 09:49 AM
i suspect it cause he dosn't want to buy yet another modem that will do both or he has 2 phone lines.