PDA

View Full Version : security web pages won't load



Henderson
24-04-2005, 11:41 PM
Symantec's liveupdate stopped working and was the first indication of a possible virus, then neither the internet security or antivirus would work, using another computer symantec's site advice was to uninstall and reinstall - no go as would not uninstall - installed AVG free version and picked off a couple of viruses (beagle) then it stopped collecting updates and still can't access symantec or windows update or any other antivirus vendor - will wiping everything and starting again resolve this - run out of ideas!

Murray P
25-04-2005, 12:55 AM
A bit more info.

What version of Windows, including service packs (SP) and updates.

What version of Nortons are you using (some don't unistall that well, running two AV app's at once is likely to cause problems. See this thread (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=57132)).

How do you connect to the net.

Have you installed any hardware or software lately.

Henderson
25-04-2005, 01:09 AM
Running Windows XP Home Edition SP2 - with all updates downloaded

Running Nortons Internet Security 2004

Connect to the net DSL D-Link modem - have no problem with modem when using it on my laptop.

No Hardware or software installed lately - except for trying to reinstall liveupdate before trying complete reinstall on NIS2004.

Henderson
25-04-2005, 01:28 AM
The following is a message that has popped up after reinstalling live update, it gave 3 option leave them and remind later or leave them and ignore or remove them (recommended option) - are these the entries that block the site or is this just a fake?
LU1860: LiveUpdate has detected a potential security compromise on your computer: one or more entries for Symantec LiveUpdate servers exist in your Windows hosts files.

A malicious entry in your hosts files could prevent LiveUpdate from retrieving updates for your Symantec products, including anti-virus updates. Generally, Symantec LiveUpdate server entries should not appear in your Windows hosts files.

127.0.0.1 liveupdate.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 securityresponse.com
127.0.0.1 service1.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 update.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 updates.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 www.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 liveupdate.symantecliveupdate.com
127.0.0.1 liveupdate.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 update.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 www.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 securityresponse.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 liveupdate.symantecliveupdate.com
127.0.0.1 update.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 updates.symantec.com
127.0.0.1 customer.symantec.com

Murray P
25-04-2005, 01:41 AM
Try deleting the hosts file entries. You should then be good to go for updates, but if your system has been compromised by something with the ability to disable AV and/or firewall then it's probably too late.

As per the thread I posted above, run Hijackthis, a2 anti-trojans a good tool and for I'd also give the MS Antysyware beta a bash. Be aware, the latter does not support or report non-MS apps.

Henderson
25-04-2005, 03:35 PM
Deleting host entries resovled the problem - thank you for you help.