PDA

View Full Version : Unable To Install Symantec Products



Mr_Olympia
24-04-2005, 10:44 PM
Hi, i have been trying for the past 4 hours to install Norton Internet Security. The installation is always stopped because it can't be installed. Same thing happened when i tried to install NAV 2005 seperate and NAV 2004

pctek
24-04-2005, 11:03 PM
Congratulations, you have been saved from PC pollution.


But if you really have to put it on - what is the error exactly that you get?
Did you have a previous version installed?
What is your O/S?
Need more info....

Aurealis_
24-04-2005, 11:05 PM
Ok, hmmm. Firstly, what OS are you running. Secondly, Is this the first time Anti-Virus has been installed on the computer?

Also:
-Try restarting the machine. Sometimes windows creates temporary files that interfere with software installations.

-Try disabling or exiting any current software that's running in the background. This includes applications such as MSN Messenger, Web Browsers and General Use Programs.

-Make sure that you have completely uninstalled or disabled any existing Anti-Virus software that has already been installed on the computer.

-Has the CD you are using been working previously? Is there another machine you can test it in.

Mr_Olympia
24-04-2005, 11:11 PM
Im running WinXP Home and i uninstalled NAV04 a while ago. My first AV was NAV01, then NAV03, then NAV03 Pro, Then NAV04b, then NAV05 w while ago all were uninstalled when i no longer had internet.

Aurealis_
24-04-2005, 11:17 PM
Im running WinXP Home and i uninstalled NAV04 a while ago. My first AV was NAV01, then NAV03, then NAV03 Pro, Then NAV04b, then NAV05 w while ago all were uninstalled when i no longer had internet.

Ok, In that case it's likely that something from one of those installs is still hanging around. Did you check the CD you're installing from? It may be damaged or corrupted in some way.

Try running Hijack This (http://www.download.com/HijackThis/3000-8022_4-10227353.html) - it's a spyware and adware detection tool - and then post everything in the log file on here. The log will show what exactly is running on your system at present.

Mr_Olympia
24-04-2005, 11:54 PM
Heres what it reported

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 10:46:16 p.m., on 24/Apr/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\slserv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ups.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Fast.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\taskswitch.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\fast.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Mixer.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Toopi\cpu\FreeRAM XP Pro 1.40.exe
C:\Program Files\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\slrundll.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\Updater\01.02.3000.1001\en-nz\msnappau.exe
C:\Program Files\WellGet\WellGet.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Toopi\My Documents\Recovery\HijackThis.exe

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.kol.co.nz/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: ST - {9394EDE7-C8B5-483E-8773-474BF36AF6E4} - C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\ST\01.02.3000.1002\en-xu\stmain.dll
O2 - BHO: SafeIE Utility - {B5D4581D-ED6A-4905-A267-25BAF7BE79C1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\safeie.dll
O2 - BHO: MSNToolBandBHO - {BDBD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\MSN Toolbar\01.02.3000.1001\en-us\msntb.dll
O3 - Toolbar: MSN - {BDAD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\MSN Toolbar\01.02.3000.1001\en-us\msntb.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CoolSwitch] C:\WINDOWS\System32\taskswitch.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FastUser] C:\WINDOWS\System32\fast.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [C-Media Mixer] Mixer.exe /startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunOnce: [MyWebSearch bar Uninstall] rundll32 C:\PROGRA~1\UNINST~1.DLL,O -3
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [msnmsgr] "C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe" /background
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [FreeRAM XP] "C:\Documents and Settings\Toopi\cpu\FreeRAM XP Pro 1.40.exe" -win
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Download all by WellGet - C:\Program Files\WellGet\nxall.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download A&ll by ReGet Deluxe - C:\Program Files\Common Files\ReGet Shared\CC_All.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download by &WellGet - C:\Program Files\WellGet\nxcatch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download by Re&Get Deluxe - C:\Program Files\Common Files\ReGet Shared\CC_Link.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\msjava.dll
O9 - Extra button: WellGet - {35980F6E-A258-4E50-953D-813BB8556899} - C:\Program Files\WellGet\WellGet.exe
O9 - Extra button: ProRat V1.8 - {89999700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\unzipped\ProRat_v1.8\ProRat.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ProRat V1.8 - {89999700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\unzipped\ProRat_v1.8\ProRat.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe (file missing)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe (file missing)
O16 - DPF: morfit3dWorld - file://C:\Program Files\3DSTATE\3D Webmaker\3D Web Samples\Html\morfit3dWorld.cab
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{52A6B882-1A24-4EAB-B57B-9DA67D21874E}: NameServer = 202.150.96.1 202.150.96.2
O17 - HKLM\System\CS1\Services\Tcpip\..\{52A6B882-1A24-4EAB-B57B-9DA67D21874E}: NameServer = 202.150.96.1 202.150.96.2
O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
O23 - Service: Apache2 - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\bin\Apache.exe" -k runservice (file missing)
O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager (ccEvtMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation (ccPwdSvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager (ccSetMgr) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
O23 - Service: HDD Temperature (HDDTService) - PalickSoft - C:\Program Files\Palick Soft\HDD Temperature\HDDTsvc.exe
O23 - Service: MySql - Unknown owner - C:/Copy of mysql/bin/mysqld-max-nt.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: MySQL41 - Unknown owner - C:\Program.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: Remote Packet Capture Protocol v.0 (experimental) (rpcapd) - Unknown owner - %ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.exe" -d -f "%ProgramFiles%\WinPcap\rpcapd.ini (file missing)
O23 - Service: SmartLinkService (SLService) - - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\slserv.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe

.

Aurealis_
24-04-2005, 11:59 PM
Ok, It appears that there are various Symantec processes still running. If you're comfortable doing so I recommend deleting anything from the registry that has symantec in its name, as well as shutting down all symantec processes using Task Manager [Press Ctrl+Alt+Del simultaneously to acess Task Manager] and then seeing if that gets you anywhere.

I've been told that removing Symantec from your system can be impossible, but I don't believe that and nor should you.

Jen
25-04-2005, 12:28 AM
O9 - Extra button: ProRat V1.8 - {89999700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} - C:\unzipped\ProRat_v1.8\ProRat.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: ProRat V1.8 - {89999700-cba3-4071-b251-47cb894244cd} -
C:\unzipped\ProRat_v1.8\ProRat.exeThis is rather interesting. Did you install ProRat yourself? You are aware that it is used to maliciously gain access to other people's computers after infecting them with a trojan? From your hijackthis log it looks like it has been unzipped and installed by the user. Care to explain?

John D
25-04-2005, 10:05 PM
Hi

Having similar problem you are talking about I used a little program from Symantic them selves.
SYMClean did the the clean up job you need to do before reinstall.

Here is a little more info: http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nsw.nsf/docid/2003033111445907?Open&src=&docid=2001074957656166&nsf=nsw.nsf&view=pfdocs&dtype=&prod=&ver=&osv=&osv_lvl=

And here you can down load SYMClean Just click the little yellow box with the + sign on it with the words, How to obtain the latest version of SYMClean:
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/sunset-c2002kb.nsf/9b60813077fffd2385256ee60055ac57/3cd619a91e20c57b85256edf00520f06?OpenDocument&ExpandSection=5&Src=bar_sch_nam#_Section5

Its basicly a reg cleaner for what it leaves behind when you uninstall there products.

Hope this helps.

John.

TonyF
25-04-2005, 10:51 PM
Now that is really helpful - I've had past problems trying to install Symantec progs and been impeded by the leftover stuff from Uninstalls. I'll go get it. Ta.
TonyF

saikou
26-04-2005, 12:31 PM
There is a service that needs to be running to install (but not to use) Norton software. I can't remember the name but will check after work.

Although I doubt this to be the cause in your case, it's more general information for all.

theother1
26-04-2005, 01:05 PM
I just did a search for norton in the FAQs and there seems to be a huge number of questions about problems with NAV. Why do people persevere with it?
And there are 20pages of posts which relate directly to nortons under the search option??????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(

johnboy
26-04-2005, 01:19 PM
Also try their search page they have a few pages on install problems.
Have a look at these pages
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/nav.nsf/docid/2004091615042406?OpenDocument&src=hot&prod=Norton%20AntiVirus&ver=2005&csm=no&tpre=

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2004021112313539?Open&src=bar_sch_nam&docid=2001111720394806&nsf=nav.nsf&view=d4578f66d8f00a0188256d4e006aaa94&dtype=&prod=&ver=&osv=&osv_lvl=

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf/docid/2001070616554306?Open&src=&docid=2001112111324439&nsf=tsgeninfo.nsf&view=docid&dtype=&prod=&ver=&osv=&osv_lvl=
http://www.symantec.com/region/reg_eu/techsupp/consumer.html
hth